Carrie Underwood played a two-hour show Tuesday night at 1st Mariner Arena that flitted between frivolous love songs and defiant pop anthems.

On singles like "Temporary Home," where she laid the schmaltz thick, she faltered, drowned out by the over production and the melodrama.

But on others, like "Last Name" she got to show off her strengths: her pipes, and a touch of attitude that fits her big voice.


The Grammy winner played 21 songs in a total, including her duet with Randy Travis, "I Told You So." On "What Can I Say" she was joined on stage by openers Sons of Sylvia.

A full review will come later today, along with photos from the show. Update: Full review is here.

Underwood's set list is below:

Carrie Underwood set list:

1. Cowboy Casanova
2. Quitter
3. Wasted
4. I know you won't
5. Some Hearts
6. Just a dream
7. Temporary Home
8. Someday When I Stop Loving You
9. All American Girl
10. So Small
11. Take Me Home, Country Roads (John Denver cover)
12. This Time
13. Undo It
14. Jesus, Take the Wheel
15. What Can I Say (duet with Sons of Sylvia)
16. Change
17. I Told You So
18. Mama's Song
19. Last Name


20. Before he Cheats
21. Songs like this

Photo: Gene Sweeney Jr./Baltimore Sun