Trent Reznor's 'Social Network' soundtrack online for free

Five tracks from the soundtrack to the Facebook movie, "The Social Network," are now online for free.

Trent Reznor - of Nine Inch Nails - scored the movie, and likely pushed for the tracks to be made available online gratis. Since returning as NIN, Reznor has pursued independent distribution of its music.


The movie, if you've been living under a rock, is a lighthearted romp about life on the Interwebs.

Reznor is just the latest rocker to score a major Hollywood movie with online cult status. The Yeah Yeah Yeah's Karen O scored last year's "Where the Wild Things Are."


He composed the music along with Atticus Ross, his longtime collaborator and producer.

On the soundtrack's website, Reznor describes the score as "electronic in basis, but mostly organic sounding. Lots of experiments and emphasis on sound fraying around the edges while focusing on the proper emotional tone for the various scenes."

After the jump, the free downloads. 

Free downloads are not new to the singer. He's been an outspoken critic of the record industry's distribution methods.

Since returning to Nine Inch Nails, he's rejected traditional releases and commandeered the band's marketing through its website and through social media, like his popular twitter page. The band's most recent album, 2008's "The Slip," was released as a free download and has now reached platinum status.

Earlier this year, he told

that working outside the established record industry gives him more autonomy over his work and marketing.

"That's the power of distribution—all the strangleholds that those labels had sewed up—are gone. Anybody is a broadcaster and a publisher," he said.


The five free tracks from the 19-track album are: "Pieces Form the Whole," "Eventually We Find Our Way, "On We March," "The Gentle Hum of Anxiety," and "Soft Trees Break the Fall."

They are available here.

Also see: More on "The Social Network"