Chris Carr addresses scholarship recipients

Ravens cornerback Chris Carr urged 67 Maryland recipients of scholarship awards from the Baltimore Community Foundation to appreciate -- and take advantage of -- the opportunity they've been given.

A total of $112,500 in scholarship awards went to 67 college and high school students during a Thursday luncheon sponsored by the Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Hillary Bowman, a graduating senior at Digital Harbor High School, received the largest award, the $10,000 One Step Up Scholarship, created to make college possible for young women who have overcome significant challenges and displayed leadership qualities.


Carr, a graduate of Boise State University who enters his sixth NFL season in 2010, talked about the adjustments the high school students will face moving on to college. He stressed that college students will have new-found freedoms and cautioned them to be efficient in time management.

He also said he appreciated how many of them had overcome obstacles to win scholarship awards.


In addition to Carr, other speakers included scholarship recipients Ahslee Banks, a sophomore at Morgan State studying broadcast journalism, and Jay Karolenko, a junior at Towson University studying music education.

Awards from 12 scholarship funds at BCF ranged from $500 to $10,000, and went to high school students planning to pursue higher education or students who already are in college.

The Ravens were sponsoring the event for the second time, and made five scholarship presentations for the first time. The five who received the award were Megan Reid of Poly, Eric Arndts of Westminster, Sophie Szarko of Catonsville, Jasmin Johnson of Dunbar and Taylor Andrews of Century.

The 2010 BCF scholarship recipients were:

Artemis Scholarship -- Nicole Coppola, Western; Ayana Parker-Morrison, Baltimore School for the Arts; and Amandeep Samra, Western.

Megan Boesch Nursing Scholarship -- Christie Kinney, C. Milton Wright.

Mildred M. Coughlin Scholarship -- Kayanna Johnson, Sopagna Peak, Amandeep Samra, Ashley Van-Veen and Laura Willis, all of Western.

Digital Harbor High School Community Scholarship -- Lougene and Marie Almojuela, Jamaal Barnes, Darren Bean, Hillary Bowman, Collin Christ, Phineas Dyson, Brian Eggleston, Kelsie Hall, Destiny Jefferson, Erin Johnson, Curstie Miller, Asia Parker, and Tamar Smith, all of Digital Harbor; and Timothy Bowen of the University of Maryland and Ashley McClure of UMBC.


Walther H. Feldmann Scholarship -- Ciarra Bell, Poly; Dominique Duval, Johns Hopkins University; Nicole Johnson, Poly; David Lai, Maryland; Jeanie Lai, Poly; Vanessa Oguamanam, Poly.

Harry Z. Isaacs Scholarship -- Marie Almojuela, Digital; Jamal Barnes, Digital Harbor; Ciarra Bell, Poly; Casey Campbell, Poly; Alicia Grant, Poly; Megan Green, Maryland; Kelsie Hall, Digital Harbor; Jasmine Hart, Reginald F. Lewis H.S.; Tinaya Holland, Baltimore Talent Development H.S.; Jasmine Johnson, Dunbar; Kayanna Johnson, Western; Nicole Johnson, Poly; Jeanie Lai, Poly; Olumuyiwa Onibatedo, Forest Park; Ayana Parker-Morrison, Baltimore School for the Arts; Sopagna Peak, Wester; Ashley Van-Veen, Western; James Young, Liberty.

Christa McAuliffe Scholarship -- Katherine Hauser, College of Notre Dame; Leah James, Stephen Decatur; Jay Karolenko, Towson University; Nicole McClasey, C. Milton Wright; Joshua Wilder, Stephen Decatur; Amanda Woozley, Middletown.

One Step Up Associates Award -- Jasmin Johnson, Dunbar.

One Step Up College Scholarship -- Jeane Baker, College of Notre Dame; Hillary Bowman, Digital Harbor; Sherrone Ricks, Bowdoin College.

Al Sanders Scholarship for Music Studies -- Katrina Godfrey, Patuxent; Caitlin Gompf, North East; Jonathan Johnson, Dunbar; David Kalwa, Baltimore School for the Arts; Eric Maul, Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University; Kellen McKay, North Carroll.


Eric and Cara Thorn Memorial Scholarship -- Alexis Balinski, Patuxent; Eric Butler, Northern;

Michelle Denny, Patuxent; Katrina Godfrey, Patuxent; Tierney Guido, Northern; Chelsea Kahn-Deere, Patuxent; Kimberly Zwissler, Calvert.

WJZ-TV Jerry Turner Broadcast Scholarship -- Ashlee Banks, Morgan State; Brittany Dillard, Kent Island; Brandon Goldner, Pikesville; Janel Johnson, Randallstown; Jessica Manuel, Hood College; Bethany-Kate McBee, Salisbury; Katherine Nunez, Catonsville; Tashauna Thompson, Randallstown; Darcy Zink, Washington College.