xml:space="preserve">
xml:space="preserve">
Advertisement
Advertisement

Respectfully disagree with Buck

Buck Martinez just made the case on MASN that it was a "good gamble" when Melvin Mora went for third on Ty Wigginton's single in the seventh inning, even though Gold Glove center fielder Shane Victorino was picking up the ball as Mora rounded second base.

Respectfully disagree with Buck

Though I don't think any of baseball's unwritten rules are chiseled in stone (ergo, they would not be unwritten), but the one about not making the first or last out of an inning at third base trumps just about all of them when you're in a tie game in the late innings. Victorino was charging straight into the throw, but Melvin doesn't run as well as he used to and -- in this case -- the outcome does determine whether it was a good decision or not.

Advertisement

Forcing the action at that point does not make sense for a couple of reasons, one of which is the pitch count of opposing pitcher Cole Hamels. He was closing in on his 100th pitch at that point and would have been looking at two on and none out in that situation. Instead, he gets the free out at third and is out of the inning a couple pitches later with the double play ball.

The other reason is because I agree with Dave Trembley's desire to turn the lineup over at every opportunity. Even if the Orioles don't score after getting the first two guys on, they likely would have gotten through the No. 8 and No. 9 spots in the order if Mora doesn't gamble, along with putting another inning's worth of strain on Hamels arm and psyche.

Advertisement
Advertisement

That said, it's Father's Day and Melvin has six great kids -- including quintuplets -- so I'm giving him a pass.

Rare Mike Klingaman plug: If you want to read more about Melvin on Father's Day, check out Mike's cover story in today's print edition or read it here.

Recommended on Baltimore Sun

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement