How they voted: Amending Constellation deal

Thank you for supporting our journalism. This article is available exclusively for our subscribers, who help fund our work at The Baltimore Sun.

The Senate voted to amend the $2 billion settlement between the state and Constellation Energy Group to require that any new power plants built in Maryland would offer to sell their electricity first in-state, and be subject to Public Service Commission regulation.

The amendment, offered by Sens. E.J. Pipkin, an Eastern Shore Republican, and Jim Rosapepe, a Prince George's County Democrat, carried 27-18, with one not voting and one excused.  The bill is SB 1013.


Proponents argued the amendment would set the state on course to correct its nine-year-old vote to deregulate electricity generation, while opponents warned it could scuttle the settlement with Constellation.

YEAS - 27

  • David R. Brinkley, R, Frederick & Carroll Counties
  • James Brochin, D, Baltimore County
  • Richard F. Colburn, R, Caroline, Dorchester, Talbot & Wicomico Counties
  • Joan Carter Conway, D, Baltimore City
  • George W. Della, Jr., D, Baltimore City
  • Roy P. Dyson, D, Calvert, Charles & St. Mary's Counties
  • Nathaniel Exum, D, Prince George's County
  • Brian E. Frosh, D, Montgomery County
  • Lisa A. Gladden, D, Baltimore City
  • Janet Greenip, R, Anne Arundel County
  • Larry E. Haines, R, Baltimore County & Carroll Counties
  • David C. Harrington, D, Prince George's County
  • Andrew P. Harris, R, Baltimore County & Harford County
  • Nancy Jacobs, R, Cecil & Harford Counties
  • Verna L. Jones, D, Baltimore City
  • Mike Lennett, D, Montgomery County
  • Richard S. Madaleno, Jr., D, Montgomery County
  • Nathaniel J. McFadden, D, Baltimore City
  • Alex X. Mooney, R, Frederick & Washington Counties
  • C. Anthony Muse, D, Prince George's County
  • Paul G. Pinsky, D, Prince George's County
  • E.J. Pipkin, R, Caroline, Cecil, Kent & Queen Anne's Counties
  • Jamie Raskin, D, Montgomery County
  • Jim Rosapepe, D, Anne Arundel & Prince George's Counties
  • Bryan W. Simonaire, R, Anne Arundel County
  • Norman R. Stone, Jr., D, Baltimore County
  • Bobby A. Zirkin, D, Baltimore County

NAYS - 18

  • Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., D, Calvert & Prince George's Counties
  • John C. Astle, D, Anne Arundel County
  • Ulysses Currie, D, Prince George's County
  • James E. DeGrange, Sr., D, Anne Arundel County
  • George C. Edwards, R, Allegany, Garrett & Washington Counties
  • Jennie M. Forehand, D, Montgomery County
  • Robert J. Garagiola, D, Montgomery County
  • Edward J. Kasemeyer, D, Baltimore County & Howard County\
  • Delores G. Kelley, D, Baltimore County
  • Nancy J. King, D, Montgomery County
  • Allan H. Kittleman, R, Carroll & Howard Counties
  • Katherine A. Klausmeier, D, Baltimore County
  • Rona E. Kramer, D, Montgomery County
  • Thomas M. Middleton, D, Charles County
  • Donald F. Munson, R, Washington County
  • Douglas J.J. Peters, D, Prince George's County
  • Catherine E. Pugh, D, Baltimore City
  • James N. Robey, D, Howard County


  • J. Lowell Stoltzfus, R, Somerset, Wicomico & Worcester Counties


  • Barry Glassman, R, Harford County (Constellation employee)