Baltimore Sun

Terps postseason football awards

Here, courtesy of Maryland media relations, are the 2008 Maryland football award winners named by the team:

Top Special Teams Performer – Travis Baltz


Freshman of the Year – Torrey Smith

A.V. Williams Award for Outstanding & Conspicuous Sportsmanship – Dan Gronkowski


George C. Cook Memorial Award for the senior with the highest GPA – Dean Muhtadi

George Boutselis Memorial Award for letterman with the highest GPA – Dan Gronkowski

Alvin L. Aubinoe Award as the unsung hero – Andrew Schmitt (special teams), Cory Jackson (offense), Jeff Allen (defense)

C.P. "Lefty" McIntosh Public Service Award sponsored by Don & Terry Wilson – Jordan Steffy

James M. Tatum Award for Lineman of the Year – Jeremy Navarre (defensive) and Edwin Williams (offensive)

Dr. John E. Faber Award for Iron Man – Jack Griffin

Terrapin Club Award for the greatest career contribution to football – Edwin Williams

Scout Team Offensive Player of the Year – Jamarr Robinson


Scout Team Defensive Player of the Year – Hakeem Sule

Most Improved Offensive Player – Da'Rel Scott

Most Improved Defensive Player – Jamari McCollough

Most Valuable Offensive Player – Darrius Heyward-Bey

Most Valuable Defensive Player – Alex Wujciak

Ray Krouse Award for Most Valuable Player – Jeremy Navarre


Distinguished Contributor Award – Tom McCausland

Maryland Football Fan of the Year – Joel Ryerson

Note: The Terps will announce their 2009 signing class on Feb. 4.