Baltimore Sun

Baltimore City School Board members

Patricia L. Welch

  • Chairwoman of the Baltimore City Board of School Commissioners
  • Appointed in 1997

  • Dean of the School of Education and Urban Studies, Morgan State University

    Samuel Stringfield

  • Vice chairman of the Baltimore City Board of School Commissioners

  • Appointed in 1999

  • Research scientist and director for the Center for Social Organization of Schools at the Johns Hopkins University

    Diane L. Bell-McKoy

  • Appointed in July

  • President and CEO of Empower Baltimore Management Corporation (EBMC), the nonprofit organization that manages the Empowerment Zone in Baltimore City

    Camay Calloway Murphy

  • Appointed in 1999

  • Cultural Development Consultant at Coppin State College

    Kenneth A. Jones

  • Appointed in 2000

  • Retired engineer volunteering as a mentor in the "Go to High School, Go to College" program

    Brian D. Morris

  • Appointed in July

  • Chairman and CEO of Legacy Unlimited LLC, a financial services holding company with a mission to be the "premier provider" of financial education, products, and services to minority communities

    David Stone

  • Appointed in 2002

  • Director of Public School Partnerships with the Kennedy Krieger Institute

    Ralph S. Tyler

  • Appointed in July

  • Attorney and partner with Hogan & Hartson law firm

    Dorothy G. Siegel

  • Appointed in 1997

  • Vice President Emeritus of student services at Towson University

  • Advertisement