'SNL' Cuts Back for 32nd Season


Some of the rumors surrounding comings and goings on "Saturday Night Live" have turned out to be true.

The cast of the venerable NBC late-night show will feature only 11 regulars for 2006-07, down from 16 last season. In addition to the previously announced departures of Tina Fey and Rachel Dratch -- who are working on NBC's prime-time comedy "30 Rock" -- eight-year veterans Chris Parnell and Horatio Sanz have been let go, as has Finesse Mitchell, who's been with "SNL" since 2003.

The cast for the coming season will be made up of Fred Armisen, Will Forte, Bill Hader, Darrell Hammond, Seth Meyers, Amy Poehler, Maya Rudolph, Andy Samberg, Jason Sudeikis, Kenan Thompson and Kristen Wiig. Meyers will also serve as head writer, along with Andrew Steele and Paula Pell.

About a month ago, a spate of rumors about who might be leaving the show swirled through the media. Sanz and Parnell were mentioned in several stories; others had Rudolph, Forte and Thompson on their way out. Neither NBC nor "SNL" producer Lorne Michaels made any comment at the time.

Poehler, who has co-anchored "Weekend Update" with Fey for the past two seasons, will remain at the fake-news desk this season with a partner to be announced later.

The 32nd season of "Saturday Night Live" debuts Sept. 30, with comedian Dane Cook hosting and The Killers as the musical guest.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad