Death hoaxes

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001979" title="Jeff Goldblum" href="/topic/entertainment/jeff-goldblum-PECLB001979.topic">Jeff Goldblum</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001752" title="Harrison Ford" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/harrison-ford-PECLB001752.topic">Harrison Ford</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003747" title="Britney Spears" href="/topic/entertainment/music/britney-spears-PECLB003747.topic">Britney Spears</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001692" title="Miley Cyrus" href="/topic/entertainment/television/miley-cyrus-PECLB001692.topic">Miley Cyrus</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB004205" title="Natalie Portman" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/natalie-portman-PECLB004205.topic">Natalie Portman</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001265" title="Matt Damon" href="/topic/entertainment/matt-damon-PECLB001265.topic">Matt Damon</a> -- all alive last we checked.<br>
<br>
Following the slew of celebrity deaths in late June -- including <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002548" title="Michael Jackson" href="/topic/entertainment/music/michael-jackson-PECLB002548.topic">Michael Jackson</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003190" title="Ed McMahon" href="/topic/entertainment/ed-mcmahon-PECLB003190.topic">Ed McMahon</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001648" title="Farrah Fawcett" href="/topic/entertainment/television/farrah-fawcett-PECLB001648.topic">Farrah Fawcett</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0000014806" title="Billy Mays" href="/topic/business/billy-mays-PECLB0000014806.topic">Billy Mays</a> -- Internet pranksters had a field day hacking <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCRP00010280" title="Twitter, Inc." href="/topic/business/twitter-inc.-ORCRP00010280.topic">Twitter</a> accounts and spreading elaborate tales of the stars supposed grisly deaths. One of the most popular fabrications appears to be a story about a chosen actor, such as Goldblum, who <a href="http://www.snopes.com/inboxer/hoaxes/cliffdeath.asp" target="_blank"><b>plunged to his death off a cliff</b></a> while filming in New Zealand.<br>
<br>
- Hanh Nguyen, <a href="http:www.zap2it.com">Zap2it</a><br>
<br>
Related:<br>
<br>
<a href="http://blog.zap2it.com/frominsidethebox/2009/07/jeff-goldblums-colbert-report-eulogy.html">VIDEO: Jeff Goldblum's 'Colbert Report' eulogy</a><br>
<a href="http://blog.zap2it.com/frominsidethebox/2009/06/rickrolled-from-the-grave-rick-astley-is-not-dead.html">Rickrolled from the grave: Rick Astley is not dead</a><br>
<a href="http://blog.zap2it.com/frominsidethebox/2009/06/britney-spears-miley-cyrus-not-dead-jackson-autopsy-false.html">Britney Spears, Miley Cyrus not dead</a>
zap-media-hoaxes-death-jeff-goldblum-picture

( NBC )

Jeff Goldblum, Harrison Ford, Britney Spears, Miley Cyrus, Natalie Portman and Matt Damon -- all alive last we checked.

Following the slew of celebrity deaths in late June -- including Michael Jackson, Ed McMahon, Farrah Fawcett and Billy Mays -- Internet pranksters had a field day hacking Twitter accounts and spreading elaborate tales of the stars supposed grisly deaths. One of the most popular fabrications appears to be a story about a chosen actor, such as Goldblum, who plunged to his death off a cliff while filming in New Zealand.

- Hanh Nguyen, Zap2it

Related:

VIDEO: Jeff Goldblum's 'Colbert Report' eulogy
Rickrolled from the grave: Rick Astley is not dead
Britney Spears, Miley Cyrus not dead

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun