Become a digitalPLUS subscriber. 99¢ for 4 weeks.

Dunham cited by IBCA after 107-point week

BasketballCollege SportsBen Weber

Pendleton Heights senior Kellen Dunham set a scoring record in the Madison County Tournament, and he is one of nine players recognized in the IBCA/Pacers-Fever Players of the Week program.

A 6-4 shooting guard, Dunham was joined by Hanover Central senior Nick Bollenbacher, Whitko senior Logan Irwin, Lawrence Central senior Jeremy Hollowell, Eastern Greene senior JT Yoho, Fort Wayne Canterbury sophomore Kindell Fincher, Norwell senior Jessica Rupright, Indian Creek junior Ally Lehman and Evansville Mater Dei sophomore Maura Muensterman in earning accolades in the awards program sponsored by the Indiana Pacers and Indiana Fever.

All were cited for performances from Jan. 2-7, 2012.

Dunham, a Butler recruit, was cited for the second time this season after averaging 35.7 points over three games. He opened with 30 points in an 83-23 victory over Alexandria. He followed with 38 points in a 70-35 win over Lapel. He concluded with 39 points and 10 rebounds in a 66-54 decision over Anderson as Pendleton Heights improved to 11-2 for the season.

That output gave Dunham a record 107 points for the Madison County Tournament, 21 better than the 86 set by Lapel's Jason Holsinger in 2005 and matched this season by Elwood's Korbin Buster. (Buster, by the way, had 51 points in a 75-68 consolation win over Madison-Grant.)

Dunham -- previously honored Nov. 21-26 -- shares the IBCA weekly boys District 2 honor with Hollowell, a 6-8 senior who averaged 37.0 in helping Lawrence Central (6-2) to a split of two games. First, the Indiana University recruit scored 38 points in an 84-76 setback at Bowman Academy. He followed by pouring in 36 points and grabbing 15 rebounds in a 74-60 victory over Columbus North.

Bollenbacher and Irwin were joint recipients in boys District 1.

The 6-1 Bollenbacher averaged 35.5 points, 5.0 rebounds, 5.5 assists and 7.5 steals in helping Hanover Central go 2-0 and improve to 6-4. Bollenbacher opened with 33 points, six rebounds, six assists and seven steals in a 70-61 win at Griffith. He followed with 38 points, four rebounds, five assists and eight steals in a 62-50 at Boone Grove. In the latter game, Bollenbacher broke the school career scoring record of 1,241 points set by Mike Halowbowski in 1986.

Irwin was another hot scorer, averaging 36.0 points in two games as Whitko moved to 4-6. The 6-0 guard netted 37 points in a 55-36 win over Rochester. The Stetson recruit followed with 35 points in a 72-62 loss to Lebanon. For the season, Irwin is averaging 31.2 points, 7.2 rebounds, 5.4 assists and 2.7 steals.

Yoho is the boys District 3 honoree after leading Eastern Greene (9-1) to the championship of the Greene County Invitational. A 6-6 forward, Yoho opened the three-game event with 32 points and eight rebounds in a 78-63 victory over Linton. The Wright State recruit followed with 21 points and eight rebounds in a 90-28 rout of North Central (Farmersburg). He concluded with 21 points, six rebounds and seven assists in a 72-34 title-game decision over Shakamak.

Fincher and Rupright claimed respective girls accolades in Districts 1 and 2, while Lehman and Muensterman shared honors in girls District 3.

A 5-10 forward, Fincher averaged 24.0 points and 16.0 rebounds in two game for Fort Wayne Canterbury (10-2). She began her week with 25 points, 14 rebounds and three assists in a 74-67 win over Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger. Fincher later added 23 points, 18 rebounds and three assists in just 21 minutes of a 101-40 victory over Lakewood Park.

Rupright, a 6-2 forward bound for Miami (Ohio), averaged 27.5 points in two games as Norwell improved to 13-1. She poured in 33 points in a 76-43 triumph over Leo. She followed with 22 points in an 85-44 thrashing of Fort Wayne Carroll.

Lehman averaged 32.5 points in two games for Indian Creek (11-4), including a quadruple-double. The 5-9 forward totaled 29 points, 14 rebounds, 11 assists and 14 steals in a 78-46 win over Edinburgh. She then produced 36 points, 10 rebounds, five assists and three steals in a 61-40 decision over North Decatur.

The 5-11 Muensterman averaged 30.0 points in two game for Evansville Mater Dei (12-1). She opened with 22 points, 10 rebounds, 14 assists and seven steals in a 66-50 win over Evansville Harrison. She followed with 38 points, eight rebounds, four assists and eight steals in a 52-46 decision over Jasper.

his is the fourth season for the Pacers-Fever Players of the Week program coordinated through the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. Winners are chosen each week from each of the IHSAA's three districts. Girls winners will be chosen from now through the week following March 3. Boys winners will be chosen from now through the week following March 24.

Other nominees for Week 9District 1 boys -- Cody Artuso, Hebron; James Blackmon Jr., Fort Wayne Luers; Drew Boetel, Valparaiso; Elliott Coad, Knox; John Eckert, North Judson; Max Everaert, Kouts; Demetrius Jackson, Mishawaka Marian; Todd Johnson, Elkhart Memorial; Nick Kindig, Tippecanoe Valley; Bryan McKinney, Winamac; Spencer Mortola, Lakeland; Breyton Nealis, Wabash; Antonio Penny, Logansport; Marq Rogers, Fort Wayne Concordia; Kyle Sovine, New Haven; Cory Waycaster, Elkhart Christian; Clay Yeo, Triton.

District 1 girls -- Sammi Adams, Griffith; Haley Brown, Fairfield; Skyler Carpenter, Westview; Brandi Dawson, Garrett; Sam Emerick, New Prairie; Princess German, Bowman Academy; Whitney Jennings, Logansport; Briana Lewin, Hebron; Carmen Lowe, Homestead; Michal Miller, Michigan City; Andriana Moore, East Chicago Central; Imani Moore, Fort Wayne Wayne; Alex Morton, Penn; Raveen Murray, Merrillville; Laura Tonner, Rensselaer Central; Hope Wagner, Knox; Miracle Woods, Fort Wayne Luers.

District 2 boys -- Jaylon Brown, Fishers; Korbin Buster, Elwood; Drake Danford, West Lafayette; Devin Davis, Warren Central; Jack Day, Lebanon; Nick Fuelling, Bellmont; Gary Harris, Hamilton Southeastern; Colin Hawk, Roncalli; Andrew Hubertz, Lafayette Central Catholic; Nick Hutcheson, Greencastle; Trey Lyles, Indianapolis Tech; Alex Parrett, Cardinal Ritter; Luke Pearson, Western Boone; Jordan Pickett, University; Nathan Rogers, North Montgomery; Adam Schroeder, Seton Catholic; P.J. Thompson, Brebeuf Jesuit.

District 2 girls -- Madison Berry, Cathedral; Anel Capps, Decatur Central; Jaidlin Delph, Sheridan; Megan Dixon, Tri-County; Rachael Gregory, North Central; Kasey Johnson, Plainfield; Jenifer Lee, Rockville; Stephanie Mavunga, Brownsburg; Jill Morrison, Winchester; Bridget Perry, Roncalli; Makenzi Reasor, Mt. Vernon (Fortville); Taya Reimer, Hamilton Southeastern; Nyla Rueter, Hagerstown; Darien Thompson, Anderson; Dakota Weatherford, Hamilton Heights; Brittany Webb, Heritage Christian.

District 3 boys -- Caleb Begle, Jasper; Dawson Gore, Eminence; Avory Mickens, Vincennes Lincoln; Brienne Miles, Evansville Central; Adam Miller, Hauser; Jalen Pendleton, Evansville Bosse; Jason Ray, Martinsville; Joe Reed, Center Grove; Dillon Reynolds, Northview; Sean Sellers, Greensburg; Rhett Smith, Sullivan; Jalen Snodgrass, Brownstown Central; Ryan Wannemuehler, Evansville Mater Dei; Ben Weber, Southridge; Aaron Wilp, Crothersville.

District 3 girls -- Michaela Brockman, Shoals; Hannah Carmichael, Seymour; Natalie Cohlmeyer, Evansville Memorial; Samantha Dewey, Triton Central; Emily Lueken, Northeast Dubois; Taylor Miller, Hauser; Destiny Mitchell, Springs Valley; Sarah Onken, Trinity Lutheran; Tori Packwood, West Washington; Megan Randall, Mt. Vernon (Posey); Sasha Robinson, Brown County; Lakin Roland, Jeffersonville; Rhagen Smith, Sullivan; Wynter Wagoner, Loogootee; Lauren Whitlatch, Bloomington South.

Copyright © 2014, The Baltimore Sun