Here is a list of selected national and international airlines that offer flights out of major cities in the United States. In some cases, an airline may not have its own mileage award program, but it may partner with another airline. Note: "FF" denotes "frequent flier."

Aer Lingus // 800-474-7424 reservations/FF; www.aerlingus.com

Aeroflot Russian Airlines // 888-340-6400 reservations/FF; aeroflot.com

Air Canada // 888-247-2262 reservations; 800-361-5373 FF; aircanada.ca

Air France // 800-237-2747 reservations; 800-375-8723 FF; airfrance.com

Air India // 800-223-7776 reservations; 800-205-2800 FF; airindia.com

Air Jamaica // 800-523-5585 reservations/FF; airjamaica.com

Air New Zealand // 800-262-1234 reservations/FF; airnewzealand.com

AirTran // 800-247-8726 reservations/FF; airtran.com

Alaska Airlines // 800-252-7522 reservations; 800-654-5669 FF; alaskaair.com

Alitalia Airlines // 800-223-5730 reservations/FF; alitaliausa.com

American Airlines/American Eagle // 800-433-7300 reservations; 800-882-8880 FF; aa.com

American Trans Air (ATA) // 800-225-2995 reservations; 877-282-7392 FF; ata.com

America West Airlines (merged with US Airways) // 800-235-9292 reservations; 800-247-5691 FF; americawest.com

British Airways // 800-247-9297 reservations; 800-955-2748 FF; britishairways.com

Cathay Pacific Airways // 800-233-2742 reservations; 866-892-2598 FF; cathay-usa.com

Continental Airlines // 800-525-0280 reservations; 800-621-7467 FF; continental.com

Delta Air Lines // 800-221-1212 reservations; 800-323-2323 FF; delta.com

EgyptAir // 800-334-6787 reservations/FF; www.egyptair.com.eg