A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears, and Al Unser have a lot in common.  All three won the Indianapolis 500 four times each.  And now, they are in the top three spots as fans vote for the 33 greatest drivers in 500 history.

Fans voted worldwide from March 18 to May 14 online at TheGreatest33.com.

"It's only fitting that the three greatest legends of the Indianapolis 500, A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser, are leading 'The Greatest 33' to the green flag," said Jeff Belskus, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Corporation president and chief operating officer. "We hope the fans have really enjoyed picking their perfect starting lineup and sharing their memories about the drivers who have created 100 years of history at the world's greatest race."

Foyt was the first to win four Indy 500 races. He took the top spot, followed by Rick Mears and Al Unser Sr.

Bobby Unser, Helio Castroneves and Johnny Rutherford, who each won the 500 three times, were next among fan favorites.  Other noteable drivers include Mario Andretti who was 7th,  Dario Franchitti 19th, Arie Luyendyk 16th, Bobby Rahal 21th, and Danny Sullivan 27th.

Mario's son Michael Andretti made the field of 33, even though he never won the Indy 500.  He came in at 23.  He led hundreds of laps at the 500 over his career but always came up short of winning with mechanical problems and bad luck.

"THE GREATEST 33" provided by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway(Starting lineup order determined by number of vote scores received in fan balloting)

Row 1
1. A.J. Foyt 2. Rick Mears 3. Al Unser
Row 2
4. Bobby Unser 5. Helio Castroneves   6. Johnny Rutherford
Row 3
7. Mario Andretti 8. Wilbur Shaw 9. Bill Vukovich
Row 4
10. Emerson Fittipaldi 11. Al Unser Jr. 12. Louis Meyer
Row 5
13. Mauri Rose 14. Parnelli Jones 15. Gordon Johncock
Row 6
16. Arie Luyendyk 17. Rodger Ward 18. Jim Clark
Row 7
19. Dario Franchitti 20. Tom Sneva 21. Bobby Rahal
Row 8
22. Mark Donohue 23. Michael Andretti 24. Ralph DePalma
Row 9
25. Ray Harroun 26. Tommy Milton 27. Danny Sullivan
Row 10
28. Graham Hill 29. Dan Gurney 30. Jim Rathmann
Row 1131. Juan Pablo Montoya 32. Tony Bettenhausen 33. Scott Dixon