'Nobody kill anybody': Murder-free weekend urged in Baltimore

Mikko Koivu

Will NHL awards honor Leafs, Oilers, Columbus?

Mike Babcock, John Tortorella and Todd McLellan had plenty in common.

Not only did the three steer their playoff-starved franchises to the postseason, they are the NHL coach of the year Jack Adams Trophy candidates.

Before this season, the Maple Leafs, Oilers and Blue Jackets combined to make four playoff appearances since the NHL lockout that wiped out the 2004-05 season. Those memories are long gone now.

Two years after leaving Detroit, Babcock and the youthful, Auston Matthews-led Toronto Maple Leafs clinched their second playoff berth in 12 years and put up the most wins since 2006-07. In Edmonton, McLellan and his Connor McDavid-led Oilers team ended a 10-year...