Become a digitalPLUS subscriber. 99 for 4 weeks.

Topics

Dustin Johnson
Instant analysis on Tiger Woods' two-stroke penalty at the Masters
Instant analysis on Tiger Woods' two-stroke penalty at the Masters

How some of our columnists and editors feel about the two-stroke penalty given to Tiger Woods at the Masters Saturday: Peter Schmuck, columnist: By most accounts, the ruling was correct and penalty appropriate, which is a sign that professional golf has evolved from the time when a player could have days of honorable competition wiped out by some subtle violation he wasn't even aware he committed. I'm still disgusted over the silly ruling that knocked Dustin Johnson out of the PGA Championship in 2010. He grounded his club in an unused bunker that was crowded with fans, but the purists defended that decision because "rules are rules." The 2011 change in the DQ rule would...

Loading