Baltimore's Gervonta Davis lost his belt by missing weight even before fighting Saturday and his inattention in the ring also led to a more difficult bout than he believed.
Referee Russell Mora controversially awarded Davis an eighth-round knockout victory on a left-handed punch that struck opponent Francisco Fonseca in the back of the head.
Davis (19-0, 18 knockouts) said he hurt Fonseca with a body blow before the punch, and explained that the disputed shot "capped" the damage, although fans who watched replays in the arena booed that thought.
"Everyone saw I was going down from a blow that was not legal," Fonseca said. "I want a rematch. …...