Jim Mann

Jim Mann

The Danville Newspaper Group was a shining light in the Kentucky Press Association Better Newspaper Contest for 2010, three of the newspapers finishing among the leaders in General Excellence in their circulation categories.

    The four newspapers won a collective 56 awards, including 16 firsts.

    The Jessamine Journal in Nicholasville won the General Excellence award in the Weekly Class 3 category with nine firsts, four seconds, four thirds and two honorable mentions. It was a big win for the Jessamine Journal after finishing second in General Excellence the three previous years.

     “It’s a credit to my staff,” commented Jessamine Journal Managing Editor Mike Moore. “They worked hard day in and day out. There are many outstanding papers in Weekly Class 3, and to be named the state’s best is humbling, to say the least.”

    The Danville Advocate-Messenger was third in General Excellence in the Daily Class 2. It won three firsts, seven seconds, one third and one honorable mention. The Winchester Sun was also third in General Excellence in Daily Class 1. It won two firsts, five seconds, five thirds and four honorable mentions.

     The Interior Journal competed in the Weekly Class 2 category. It had two firsts, three seconds, two thirds and two honorable mentions.

     The star shown most bright in the Website competition. The Advocate-Messenger and Interior Journal both received first place awards. The Jessamine Journal and Winchester Sun both took seconds.

     The newspapers had outstanding individual efforts spearheading the group performance.

      Jessamine Journal Staff Writer Jonathan Kleppinger won four firsts and an honorable mention and designer Shane Walters won two firsts and three thirds.

      Advocate-Messenger Reporter Todd Kleffman took two firsts and a second and  Photographer Clay Jackson took two seconds and a third.

      Winchester Sun Photographer James Mann won a first, two seconds, a third and an honorable mention and Interior Journal Editor Michael Broihier took a first, a second, a third and an honorable mention.

      The winners by newspaper were:

      Danville Advocate-Messenger :

      First—Kleffman, On-Going Story; Kleffman, Feature Picture; Staff, Newspaper Website;

      Second--John Nelson Editorial; David Brock, Spot News Coverage; Kleffman, General News Story; Larry Vaught, Sports Column; Vaught, Sports Feature Story; Jackson, General News Picture;  Jackson, Sports Picture;

      Third—Jackson, Sports Picture Essay;

       Honorable Mention—Nelson, Editorial Page;

       Winchester Sun:

        First—Randy Patrick, Column; Mann, Spot News Picture;

        Second—Keith Taylor, Sports Column; Mann, Spot News Picture; Mann, Feature Picture; David Starr, Front Page; Staff, Newspaper Website;