A flawed, inconsistent police response to sexual assault in Maryland

Susana Mendoza

Illinois lawmakers sue to get paid despite state budget mess

Six state representatives filed a lawsuit Friday demanding paychecks the Illinois comptroller cut off last spring because there's no budget agreement.

The Democrats sued Republican Leslie Munger claiming that she's violating the state constitution through executive-branch interference with the Legislature. The lawmakers also took a shot at Munger's political mentor, GOP Gov. Bruce Rauner, for their dilemma.

Munger, on her last day in office after losing a special election in November, called her adversaries "cowards." Democrat Susana Mendoza, who takes over Monday after campaigning on continuing Munger's stinginess, said everyone needs to tough it out, but that she...