Queen Anne's County Deputy Hogan returns home after shooting

Joanne C. Benson

Miller shuffles Senate leadership positions

Miller shuffles Senate leadership positions

Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller on Friday announced new committee and leadership appointments.

Some of the changes were necessitated by the loss of two members due to November's election.

The Senate lost two members to other elected offices: Baltimore's Catherine E. Pugh was elected the city's major and Jamie Raskin of Montgomery County won a seat in Congress.

Miller's appointments include:

•Sen. Douglas J.J. Peters, a Prince George's County Democrat, will take over as Senate Majority Leader, replacing Pugh.

•Sen. Bill Ferguson, a Baltimore Democrat, as chairman of the Executive Nominations Committee, replacing Raskin