If you're driving through Delaware any time soon, don't think you can pick up your phone just because you're out of Maryland.
Delaware is about to implement a tougher law that will make hand-held phone offenses more expensive.
The Associated Press reports that a bill being signed Wednesday by Gov. Jack Markell increases the penalty for a first offense of texting behind the wheel from $50 to $100. It also increases the penalty for subsequent offenses from between $100 and $200 to between $200 and $300.
While lawmakers voted earlier this year to toughen the financial penalties, they backed off a proposal calling for points to be assessed on a person's driver's license...