Alexander Lukashenko

Scores arrested in Belarus opposition protest in Minsk

Scores of protesters were arrested Sunday in the capital of Belarus as supporters of the country's repressed opposition tried to hold a march.

The attempted demonstration in Minsk was meant to commemorate Belarus' 1918 proclamation of independence from Russia. The Belarusian People's Republic lasted until 1919.

The anniversary is traditionally a day for opponents of President Alexander Lukashenko's authoritarian government to try to rally.

Journalists at the scene counted at least 70 people taken away by police. The human rights group Vyasna said five of its observers were among those arrested.

One of Belarus' most prominent opposition figures, Nikolai...