UF's Kevin O'Sullivan was named the SEC Coach of the Year on Tuesday for the second time in his seven seasons with the Gators.

A season after UF barely slipped into the NCAA tournament, the Gators bounced back with a vengeance. The Gators (40-21) won the SEC title for the third time in five seasons, finished runners-up in the SEC tournament and earned the No. 2 seed in the 64-team NCAA field.

The Gators will open tournament play against the College of Charleston at 7 p.m. Friday in Gainesville.

Freshman pitching sensation Logan Shore is expected to start for the Gators. Shore (7-3, 1.99 ERA) was named SEC Freshman of the Year as voted on by the league's 14 coaches.

Shore also made first-team All-SEC and the All-Freshman team. Junior catcher Taylor Gushue joined Shore on the first team after he hit .323 and had team-highs in home runs (six), RBI (49) and doubles (16).

Sophomore outfielder Harrison Bader made the second team after hitting a team-leading .333.

First baseman Peter Alonso (.269, 4 HRs, 32 RBI) and third baseman John Sternagel (.238, 1 HR, 12 RBI) joined Shore on the All-Freshman team.

FIRST TEAM                         

1B - Sikes Orvis, Ole Miss

2B - Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt       

3B - Austin Anderson, Ole Miss

SS - Vince Conde, Vanderbilt

C -  Taylor Gushue, Florida    

OF - Auston Bousfield, Ole Miss

OF - Ka'ai Tom, Kentucky        

OF - Christin Stewart, Tennessee

DH/UTL - A.J. Reed, Kentucky

P - Aaron Nola, LSU 

P - Logan Shore, Florida                      

RP - Jacob Lindgren, Mississippi State