TALLAHASSEE -- As Florida State's men's basketball team waits to see if prized recruit Andrew Wiggins will soon call North Florida home, the current Seminoles on Monday night took time to honor themselves after a season defined by transition.

During a banquet dinner inside the University Center Club atop the South end zone of Doak Campbell Stadium, 11 awards were handed out to players following their efforts in a year that saw FSU go 18-16, and finish in the NIT. The first-round NIT exit paled in harsh comparison to the four straight NCAA Tournament finishes the Seminoles had compiled the four preceding seasons.

Injuries and inexperience played major roles in the Seminoles' record and comparatively mediocre showing. Six seniors were lost off the ACC championship team from the year before. They were forced to be replaced by six freshmen and transfers. Two juniors, guard Ian Miller and forward Terrance Shannon, had a pair of injuries that limited what they could do for much of the season.

Miller will spend the next weeks resting a hurt foot. Shannon eventually got back to relatively full health in time for the postseason.

Next season, the Seminoles will be older. Only senior Michael Snaer will be lost. Non-scholarship seniors Rafael Portuondo and Joey Moreau also have graduated and are moving on.

In addition to the returning young talent, the Seminoles have already signed a pair of well-regarded high school seniors and are trying to woo a third, Wiggins. In recent weeks, the son of former FSU athletes has participated in a series of all-star showcases that include the Jordan Brand Classic this past weekend and the McDonald's All-America Game the week before.

CBSSports.com already has picked FSU to be the nation's 26th-best team when preseason polling arrives. Whether Wiggins, North America's top recruit, comes to FSU or not, the program is expected to be strong once again.

Take a look at the awards that were handed out Monday night:

Award                                                     Winner

First Year Academic Achievement              Boris Bojanovsky

Most Improved Student-Athlete                 Okaro White

Best Field Goal Percentage                        Boris Bojanovsky, Kiel Turpin, Okaro White

Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage             Devon Bookert

Best Free Throw Percentage                      Devon Bookert, Michael Snaer, Okaro White

Otto Petty (Most Assists) Award                 Devon Bookert, Michael Snaer

Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards        Okaro White

Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player Michael Snaer

Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player       Michael Snaer

Unsung Hero Award                                  Michael Ojo

Sixth Man Award                                      Boris Bojanovsky

Email me at coharvey@orlandosentinel.com, and follow on Twitter at @os_coleyharvey.