You've Got Mail, Meg Ryan

Put <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003604" title="Meg Ryan" href="/topic/entertainment/meg-ryan-PECLB003604.topic">Meg Ryan</a> in a romantic comedy in New York and box-office success is soon to follow. Director <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003512" title="Rob Reiner" href="/topic/entertainment/rob-reiner-PECLB003512.topic">Rob Reiner</a> cast her opposite his good buddy <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001212" title="Billy Crystal" href="/topic/entertainment/billy-crystal-PECLB001212.topic">Billy Crystal</a> in 1989’s “When Harry Met Sally … ,” in which Ryan and Crystal play friends who end up falling in love. In 1993, Ryan and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002203" title="Tom Hanks" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/tom-hanks-PECLB002203.topic">Tom Hanks</a> end up meeting cute at the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLTRA0000114" title="Empire State Building" href="/topic/arts-culture/architecture/empire-state-building-PLTRA0000114.topic">Empire State Building</a> in the finale of “Sleepless in Seattle.” Five years later, Ryan and Hanks play squabbling <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100804013500" title="Upper West Side" href="/topic/us/new-york/new-york-city/manhattan-%28new-york-city%29/upper-west-side-PLGEO100100804013500.topic">Upper West Side</a> New Yorkers in <B>“You’ve Got Mail” </B>(pictured). She has a darling children’s bookstore, and he belongs to the wealthy, powerful family that operates a chain of mega-stores in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCRP001675" title="Barnes &amp;amp; Noble Inc." href="/topic/business/consumer-goods-industries/barnes-%26-noble-inc.-ORCRP001675.topic">Barnes & Noble</a> mold. Unbeknown to each other, they have an online relationship and are falling in love. The film, written and directed by <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001583" title="Nora Ephron" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/nora-ephron-PECLB001583.topic">Nora Ephron</a>, who did “Sleepless in Seattle,” is based on the 1940 classic “The Shop Around the Corner.”
lat-ny1_f22ukggy20080527145725

( Brian Hamill, xx )

Put Meg Ryan in a romantic comedy in New York and box-office success is soon to follow. Director Rob Reiner cast her opposite his good buddy Billy Crystal in 1989’s “When Harry Met Sally … ,” in which Ryan and Crystal play friends who end up falling in love. In 1993, Ryan and Tom Hanks end up meeting cute at the Empire State Building in the finale of “Sleepless in Seattle.” Five years later, Ryan and Hanks play squabbling Upper West Side New Yorkers in “You’ve Got Mail” (pictured). She has a darling children’s bookstore, and he belongs to the wealthy, powerful family that operates a chain of mega-stores in the Barnes & Noble mold. Unbeknown to each other, they have an online relationship and are falling in love. The film, written and directed by Nora Ephron, who did “Sleepless in Seattle,” is based on the 1940 classic “The Shop Around the Corner.”

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery
Advertisement

PHOTO GALLERIES

TOP VIDEO

CONNECT WITH US


2013 YEAR IN REVIEW
Look for this special section in your
Baltimore Sun newspaper on Dec. 29, 2013.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun