Joseph Atuzarra Wins CFDA Fashion Award for Womenswear

Fashion designer Joseph Altuzarra, left, is presented with the CFDA Fashion Award for Womeswear by actress Lupita Nyong'o at Alice Tully Hall, Lincoln Center in New York City. (D Dipasupil / Getty Images / June 2, 2014)

Joseph Altuzarra won Womenswear Designer of the Year, Public School's Maxwell Osborne & Dao-Yi Chow  took top honors as Menswear Designer of the Year and the Row's Mary-Kate Olsen and Ashley Olsen took home the Accessories Designer of the Year Award at the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) 2014 Fashion Awards on Monday night.

Those were just a few of the awards handed out at the ceremony, hosted by John Waters, underwritten by Swarovski and held at Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall, just a spool of thread's toss from the the hub of New York Fashion Week the past several seasons.

According to the official announcement of the evening's winners, other honorees include:

Swarovski Awards for emerging talent were presented to Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind (for womenswear), Tim Coppens (menswear) and Irene Neuwirth (for accessories design).

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Tom Ford, the Founders Award was presented to Bethann Hardison, the Media Award was presented to Allure's Paul Cavaco, Christian Dior's Raf Simons received the International Award and Diane von Furstenberg presented the Board of Directors’ Tribute to Ruth Finley in recognition of her 65 years as founder and publisher of Fashion Calendar.

Rihanna was on hand to receive the Fashion Icon award, which was presented by Vogue editor in chief Anna Wintour. 

The 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards show program -- including red carpet coverage hosted by Brad Goreski -- will be webcast Tuesday at 8 a.m. PDT at