Winning a seventh state high school football championship has its benefits.

St. Thomas Aquinas was rewarded with 12 players named to the Class 7A All-State Teams released Saturday. Quarterback John O'Korn, offensive linemen Austin Bland and Kyle Schafenacker, and defensive lineman Joey Bosa were named to the first team.

O'Korn finished the season with 2,504 yards and 22 touchdowns, while Bosa had 70 tackles and 13 sacks for the Raiders

Other first team selections from Broward were wide receiver Eddie Jackson from Boyd Anderson and defensive back Stacy Coley of Northeast.

Cypress Bay had seven players named to the Class 8A teams, including running back Matthew Dayes, wide receiver Justin Montgomery, offensive lineman Jason Ray and linebacker Nico Marley

Dayes, who helped lead the Lightning to the Class 8A title game, rushed for 1,783 yards and 25 touchdowns. Montgomery, who also played defensive back, had three touchdowns receptions in the state final.

The Florida Class 7A and 8A All-State Team as chosen by newspaper editors and reporters.



QB-John O'Korn, 6-3 205, Sr., St. Thomas Aquinas

RB-Kenny Scott, 5-8 180, Sr., Gainesville Buchholz

RB-Stafon McCray, 6-0 205, Sr., Kissimmee Osceola

RB-Jamarlon Hamilton, 5-10 215, Sr., Plant City Durant

WR-Taj Williams, 6-4 185, Sr., Tallahassee Lincoln

WR-Eddie Jackson, 5-11 180, Sr., Boyd Anderson

OL-Kent Meredith, 6-4 280, Sr., Oviedo

OL-Austin Bland, 6-3 277, Sr., St. Thomas Aquinas

OL-Kyle Schafenacker, 6-4 288, Sr., St. Thomas Aquinas

OL-James Looney, 6-3 275, Sr., Lake Worth

OL-Josh Phelps, 6-3 280, Sr., Kissimmee Osceola