Unlimited Access. Try it Today! Your First 10 Days Always $0.99


Neil Duke
New members appointed to city school board
New members appointed to city school board

Three new members were appointed to the Baltimore City school board, Gov. Martin O'Malley and Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake announced Tuesday. In a release, the officials announced that Cheryl A. Casciani will begin July 1, and Anthony A. Hamilton and Peter Kannam would immediately begin their terms. Two current board members, Tina Marie Hike-Hubbard and Shanaysha Marie Sauls were re-appointed to their posts. The new board members will replace longtime commissioners Maxine Wood, Jerrelle Francois, and outgoing board Chair Neil Duke. They also join the board during a critical time in the school district, which is entering a year of transition as the tenure of city schools CEO Andres...