High Schools

Modern times vs. old ways [Editorial]

Modern times vs. old ways [Editorial]

Many times, it’s helpful to look at the calendar and remember what year it is.

That’s certainly the way we feel when it comes to diversity issues and Harford County Public Schools. It’s 2018, not 1958, 1968 or even 2008.

The composition of the 37,500 students who attend Harford’s public schools are a much more diverse lot from an ethnic, religious, socio-economic, national origin and racial standpoint than ever.

We suspect the composition of the 5,300-plus HCPS employees who serve these students isn’t anywhere near as diverse, and that’s certainly a problem.

From everything we’ve heard out in the community, last fall’s racial slur incident at Bel Air High School...