Summer Savings! Get unlimited digital access for 13 weeks for $13.
Topics

Transportation Disasters

New Cell Phone Laws In Effect January 1, 2014

Illinois drivers will now have to use hands-free technology to talk on cell phones under legislation Gov. Pat Quinn signed into law that bans the use of hand-held devices while driving. The law takes effect Jan. 1, 2014. Drivers without hands-free technology will need to pull off the road to make a call or face fines starting at $75 for a first offense, and up to $150 for repeat offenses as well as face a moving violation on their driving record. Three moving violations within a year could lead to a driver’s license being suspended. Drivers still could legally make calls on hand-held phones in the case of an emergency. Illinois already prohibits texting while driving. ...

Loading
79°