Try digitalPLUS for 10 days for only $0.99

Elizabeth Bishop

Repeat winner in front at Firecracker 10K

Repeat winner in front at Firecracker 10K

A record-setting 449 runners paced through the streets of Arbutus to kick off the 29th annual Arbutus Firecracker 10K on July 4 and it was deja vu as Mouhcine Outaleb won the race for the second straight year and David Berdan was second again. Outaleb completed the 6.2 mile course in 31:58, an average mile pace of 5:09. Berdan, who the race from 2007 through 2009, finished in 32:53.5. Ty Stump (33:43.4), Mark Buschman (34:01.2), Doug Mock (35:17.6), Mike Colaiacovo (35:30.1), Adam Driscoll (35:49.7), Steve Jacobs (36:04.6), Dave Berardi (36:06.9) and Paul Hugus (36:10) rounded out the top 10. The leading female was Catonsville resident Emily Hurley. She posted a winning time of...