Howard board, superintendent in legal battle as they run county school system

Breakers fare well in all-league voting

Laguna Beach, which won both an Orange Coast League championship and the program's first CIF Southern Section title (Division 3), dominated once more with seven players named to the 2010 All-Orange Coast League Boys' Water Polo Team.

Senior Spencer Dodson and junior Nathan McConnell shared the league's MVP honor and five other Breakers, junior goalie Erik Henrikson, senior Jack Clark, junior Nicky Brunner, senior Tyler Mancuso and junior Samer Alkateb, all made the all-league team.

2010 All-Orange Coast League Boys' Water Polo Team

Co-MVPs: Spencer Dodson, Laguna Beach, Sr.; Nolan McConnell, Jr.

First Team

Laguna Beach: Erik Henrikson (goalie), Jr.; Jack Clark, Sr.; Nicky Brunner, Jr.

Estancia: Charlie Umansky, Sr.; Conner Graham, Sr.; Preston Schow, Sr.

Godinez: Luis Gonzalez, Sr.

Sage Hill: Eric Hallett, Sr.

Saddleback: Miguel Mendez, Jr.; Francisco Gonzalez, Jr.

Second Team

Laguna Beach: Tyler Mancuso, Sr.; Samer Alkateb, Jr.

Estancia: Derek Andrews, Jr.; Asher Twardowski, Sr.

Costa Mesa: James Lewis, Jr.

Godinez: Alex Han, Soph.; Danny Garcia, Sr.

Sage Hill: Kevin Miller, Sr.

Saddleback: Alejandro Roman, Jr.; Adrian Lupersio, Sr.



Three members of the Laguna Beach football team — senior quarterback Austin Paxson, senior receiver/defensive back Chris Paul and receiver/defensive back Robert Clemons III — have been named to the 2010 All-Orange Coast League Football Team.

Clemmons was one of two sophomores to make the 23-member team that is headed by six other players who received special offensive, defensive and special teams recognition.

2010 All-Orange Coast League Football Team

MVP: Brandon Perez, Calvary Chapel, Sr.

Offensive MVP: Robert Murtha, Estancia, Soph.

Defensive MVP: Ricardo Rosas, Saddleback, Sr.

Linemen of the Year: Andrew Albers, Costa Mesa, Sr.; Zack Bateman, Estancia, Jr.

Special Teams MVP: Matt Carlyle, Estancia, Sr.

First Team

Laguna Beach: Austin Paxson, Sr.; Chris Paul, Sr.; Robert Clemmons III, Soph.

Estancia: Eduardo Lopez, Sr.; Tony Toledo, Sr.; Omar Gutierrez, Sr.; Alipa Peters, Jr.; John Diego, Sr.; Brandon Barron, Sr.

Costa Mesa: Nathan Avis, Jr.; DeSean Grayson, Sr.; Tyler Sheffner, Sr.

Calvary Chapel: Spencer Dalbey, Sr.; Daniel Fierro, Sr.; J.T. McLuckey, Jr.; Kurtis Davey, Jr.; Levi Moore, Sr.

Godinez: Rene Pena, Sr.; Terry Williams, Sr.; Edgar Najera, Sr.; Jorge Nunez, Sr.

Saddleback: Luis Soto, Sr.; Angel Robles, Sr.

Copyright © 2017, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad