Robinwood Warriors 9, Robinwood Hawkeyes 2: The Hawkeyes struck first but the Warriors scored the game's next nine runs en route to winning the all-Robinwood finale.

A solo home run in the top of the first inning by Andrew Sojka gave the Hawkeyes their only lead of the game. They wouldn't score again until the top of the sixth when Jair Lozoya also hit a solo homer. Between those two hits, the Warriors were in control.

An RBI single by the Warriors' Eli Duval in the bottom of the first scored the tying run. The Warriors then turned four hits in the third inning into four more runs, scored their sixth run on a passed ball in the bottom of the fourth and put the game away by scoring three runs in the fifth, where Duval collected his second hit and second RBI of the game.

  • Related

Rocco Peppi also had two hits for the Warriors and recorded the pitching win by throwing the first five innings. Dylan Holt closed on the mound.

"The boys battled hard and played incredibly well," Warriors Manager Todd Arita said. "They really stuck together and played like true champions today."

The Warriors won the district title by defeating Seaview No. 2 (8-5), Costa Mesa American No. 1 (4-3), Robinwood No. 1 (11-6) and the Hawkeyes.

The Robinwood Warriors are: Jared Arita, Vincent Dunton, Eli Duval, Ezekiel Franco, Noah Harrigan, Alex Hodges, Dylan Holt, Richard Imagawa, Chase Ishino, Nick Montiel, Rocco Peppi and Ryan Sueki. The team is led by Manager Todd Arita and coaches Ray Holt and Len Peppi.


Minor B Division

Ocean View Rockhounds 15, Ocean View Lookouts 6: Thomas Williams went four for four with three RBIs and threw the final 2 1/3 innings and Lisa Tobin had a key, two-run ground-rule double in the third inning to help propel the Rockhounds (20-4-1) past the Lookouts in an all-Ocean View championship game.

Rockhounds' Manager Chad DiMarco said his team went 5-1 this year against the Lookouts but had to rally from a five-run deficit in the top of the first inning to win Saturday's showdown.

"The one thing that was key for this team is that these kids played with a lot of heart," DiMarco said. This probably wasn't the most talented team throughout the season, but their dedication, through their work ethic, was all the difference.

"I had the Rockhounds here last year in the title game, but we lost to Robinwood No. 1. That team was more talented than this year's team but as I said, it's all about heart, and that's what this group of kids has."

Shane Hoodman threw three innings and also contributed two hits and three RBIs to the Rockhounds' offense. David Drigla had three hits and Chance DiMarco and Cole Kaplan both had two hits. Eric Church and Tyler La Force both singled in a 16-hit attack.

Chandler Calkins had a two-run double and RBI single, AJ Valle two hits and Noah Madas an RBI double for the Lookouts.

The Rockhounds' road to the district championship included wins over Seaview No. 2 (8-5), Costa Mesa American No. 1 (4-3), Robinwood No. 1 (11-6) and the Lookouts.

The Ocean View Rockhounds are: Nick Chumacero, Eric Church, Chance DiMarco, David Drigla, Shane Hoodman, Cole Kaplan, Reilly Kells, Tyler La Force, Kaleb Plew, Lisa Tobin and Thomas Williams. The team is headed by Manager Chad DiMarco and coaches Scott Kaplan, Chris La Force, Gary Buckels and Chris Wakeland.


In previous Minor B action:

Seaview Yankees 12, Huntington Valley Huskies 4: After an impressive, 15-1 win over Fountain Valley in an opening-round game June 11, the Yankees (Seaview No. 1) advanced to the semifinals by eliminating Huntington Valley (No. 1) on June 15. The Yankees' were hot at the plate and received key hits from Jesse Sparks, Ryan Lum and Jacob and Kline Francis. The story of game was the strong pitching of Ethan Eberhardt who took the mound at the end of the second inning and shut down the Huskies the rest of the way.