Stefon Diggs wins MVP at Maryland's annual awards banquet

Baltimore Sun staff

Stefon Diggs was the big winner Sunday during Maryland's annual team awards banquet.

The true freshman from Good Counsel was named the Terps' Most Valuable Player. A second-team All-ACC selection, Diggs finished 2012 with 1,896 all-purpose yards -- the second-highest single-season total in team history. He scored six touchdowns, including two on kickoff returns and one passing.

Here's a list of every Maryland award-winner.

Bennett Fulper: The George C. Cook Memorial Award for the senior with the highest academic average.

Ryan Schlothauer: The George Boutselis Memorial Award for the player who both lettered in football while attaining the highest GPA on the team and has adhered to the goals of the student-athlete ideal.

Justin Gilbert: The Public Service Award for the student athlete that has committed to serving and having a positive influence in the community. 

Matt Furstenburg: The Dr. John E. Faber Award for Iron Man, which is named after Dr. John E. Faber, who coached men’s lacrosse for 35 years and finished his coaching career with a record of 249 wins and only 57 losses, including national championship teams. 

Kevin Dorsey: The A.V. Williams Award for Outstanding & Conspicuous Sportsmanship Award for the student athlete that best displays outstanding & conspicuous sportsmanship during the course of the year. 

Joe Vellano: The Alvin L. Aubinoe Unsung Hero Trophy for the student athlete that best displays the true meaning of teamwork without regard for his personal goals. 

A.J. Francis: The James M. Tatum Memorial Award for Lineman of the Year. 

Ryan Schlothauer: Special Teams Player of the Year Award.

Darin Drakeford: Defensive Player of the Year Award in memory of Herman Grabenstein.

Stefon Diggs: Offensive Player of the Year Award in honor of Larry Grabenstein.

Stefon Diggs: Ray Krouse Memorial Award for Team’s Most Valuable Player.

Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad