HOME PLATE

<b>Finally, some respect:</b> The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000160" title="Baltimore Orioles" href="/topic/sports/baseball/baltimore-orioles-ORSPT000160.topic">Orioles</a> have not sent more than one player to the All-Star Game since 2005, but <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008615" title="Adam Jones (baseball)" href="/topic/sports/baseball/adam-jones-%28baseball%29-PESPT000008615.topic">Adam Jones</a>, pictured, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010156" title="Jim Johnson" href="/topic/sports/baseball/jim-johnson-PESPT000010156.topic">Jim Johnson</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010503" title="Matt Wieters" href="/topic/sports/baseball/matt-wieters-PESPT000010503.topic">Matt Wieters</a> were selected by their peers to help the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="15007001" title="American League" href="/topic/sports/baseball/american-league-15007001.topic">American League</a> try to secure home-field advantage for the World Series. That’s a sign that the rest of the baseball world has begun to take notice that the O’s are finally moving in the right direction. That notion is reinforced by the fact that there were some other players -- <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010090" title="Jason Hammel" href="/topic/sports/baseball/jason-hammel-PESPT000010090.topic">Jason Hammel</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010097" title="J.J. Hardy" href="/topic/sports/baseball/j.j.-hardy-PESPT000010097.topic">J.J. Hardy</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0015157" title="Wei-Yin Chen" href="/topic/sports/baseball/wei-yin-chen-PESPT0015157.topic">Wei-Yin Chen</a> -- who merited legitimate consideration.

( Getty Images / July 4, 2012 )

Finally, some respect: The Orioles have not sent more than one player to the All-Star Game since 2005, but Adam Jones, pictured, Jim Johnson and Matt Wieters were selected by their peers to help the American League try to secure home-field advantage for the World Series. That’s a sign that the rest of the baseball world has begun to take notice that the O’s are finally moving in the right direction. That notion is reinforced by the fact that there were some other players -- Jason Hammel, J.J. Hardy, Wei-Yin Chen -- who merited legitimate consideration.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery