Justin Wilson gets IndyCar victory after bizarre ending

The Dale Coyne Racing driver takes the lead after Graham Rahal brushes the wall with the lead in the final two laps.

FORT WORTH, Texas - When it comes to thrills, the oval is not lacking in 2012.

After an exciting finish at the Indianapolis 500-where Dario Franchitti narrowly survived a last lap spin from Takuma Sato for the win-there was similar drama involving Justin Wilson and Graham Rahal at Texas Motor Speedway Saturday night. 

In the end it was the former getting a victory at the Firestone 550, giving the native of England his second victory in the Izod IndyCar Series.

The outcome looked the opposite for the final 20 laps, when Rahal's No. 38 machine inherited the lead when Will Power was issued a penalty for blocking while out in front.

He was fine in that position till the final few laps when Wilson began his charge. With the lead shrinking and still needing to stay quick, Rahal got a little too loose and brushed the wall in the turn with under two laps to go

Quickly his No. 38 machine quickly lost speed and Wilson was able to get around him to grab the lead and would hold on the final two laps for his first IndyCar win on an oval. Rahal was still able to hold onto a second place finish.

Talk about it
Join other sports fans on our Ravens message board SUBSCRIBE TO THIS FEED


  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps


Welcome to The Baltimore Sun's Ravens game story database. Use the search prompts below for access to Baltimore Sun stories for every game in Ravens history.