www.baltimoresun.com/sports/ravens/ravens-insider/balnews-ravens-canty-was-unaware-hi-20131022,0,1989759.story

baltimoresun.com

Ravens' Chris Canty unaware his play vs. Dolphins led to renewed enforcement of pushing rule

Ravens apparently should have been flagged on late missed field goal in win over Dolphins

By Aaron Wilson

The Baltimore Sun

1:55 PM EDT, October 22, 2013

Advertisement

Standing at his locker Tuesday, Ravens defensive lineman Chris Canty laughed when informed that pushing teammate Arthur Jones from behind on a critical missed field-goal attempt by the Miami Dolphins was the impetus behind the renewed enforcement of an NFL rule change adopted before the season.

Canty was unaware that the Dolphins had filed a complaint with the NFL, according to NFL Network, about him shoving Jones in an effort to pressure Dolphins kicker Caleb Sturgis on his late errant 57-yard field-goal attempt that allowed the Ravens to preserve a 26-23 victory in the fifth game of the season.

The NFL reportedly agreed with the Dolphins' assessment and have now made it a point of emphasis going forward of Rule 9, Article 1, Section 3 (2)(b), a rule that outlaws pushing a teammate in an attempt to gain an advantage against opponents.

"Wow, I can take credit for that?" Canty said. "The rule is the rule. In this age of player safety, they're going to call those things. We play a physical, violent sport. I'm not going to say the rules always make a ton of sense when it comes to player safety because they don't. I know there are former player on the competition committee.

"I look at the rules and sometimes they don't actually match up with the agenda that they say. It's not truly about player safety. You're trying to knock back the line of scrimmage and use a guy to get a hand up. Maybe if you can't block the kick, you can get in the kicker's eyesight and maybe alter his kick."

During the New England Patriots' 30-27 overtime loss to the New York Jets on Sunday, Jets kicker Nick Folk's game-winning field goal followed the Patriots being flagged when defensive lineman Chris Jones blatantly pushed a teammate forward. The penalty led to a first down and a second chance for Folk after he missed a 56-yard kick in overtime on his first kick attempt.

"Yeah, it’s a bigger deal," Canty said. "They didn’t call it [in Miami]. Obviously, we got the result that we wanted. Unfortunately, it didn’t work out for New England.”

Ravens special teams coordinator Jerry Rosburg said he wasn't familiar with the Dolphins' complaint to the NFL, or the Patriots being flagged for the infraction.

"I have not," Rosburg said. "Sorry, I'm not very well informed on other things. I really haven't heard anything about that exchange between anyone on what was said or anything, so I guess I can't comment on it. I'm not sure what you're referring to. I've been kind of out of the loop."

Rosburg was aware of the rule change, though.

"We're just trying to follow the rules," Rosburg said. "We don't want any fouls. That and all the other rules we're trying to follow."

The Ravens have reviewed the play against the Dolphins that drew the attention of the NFL officiating department.

"We review all plays, that was one of the plays that we reviewed," Rosburg said. "I’m not familiar with this whole conversation so I really don’t what exactly has been said or was not said or what happened this weekend. I’m not familiar with the whole conversation, so I really can’t comment on it.”

awilson@baltsun.com

twitter.com/RavensInsider