2. Will the Ravens get other targets involved?

During a 25-15 victory over the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000038" title="Cleveland Browns" href="/topic/sports/football/cleveland-browns-ORSPT000038.topic">Cleveland Browns</a>, quarterback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000012410" title="Joe Flacco" href="/topic/sports/football/joe-flacco-PESPT0000012410.topic">Joe Flacco</a> targeted wide receivers <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009816" title="Torrey Smith" href="/topic/sports/football/torrey-smith-PESPT000009816.topic">Torrey Smith</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008942" title="Anquan Boldin" href="/topic/sports/football/anquan-boldin-PESPT00008942.topic">Anquan Boldin</a> a total of 14 times for nine receptions, 103 yards and one touchdown. Effective work for the most part, as Boldin was targeted five times for five receptions and 57 yards. However, Flacco only connected with Smith on four of nine shots for 46 yards and the game-winning score.<br>
<br>
What about the rest of the receivers? Well, not so much.<br>
<br>
Including running back <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000086232" title="Ray Rice" href="/topic/sports/football/ray-rice-PESPT0000086232.topic">Ray Rice</a> catching two dump passes for 6 yards, Flacco targeted his other receivers 10 times for six catches for 50 yards with a long reception of 27 yards to tight end <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012888" title="Dennis Pitta" href="/topic/sports/football/dennis-pitta-PESPT0012888.topic">Dennis Pitta</a>.<br>
<br>
<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> coach <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008918" title="John Harbaugh" href="/topic/sports/football/john-harbaugh-PESPT00008918.topic">John Harbaugh</a> has stated a desire to get other receivers involved, including <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012629" title="Jacoby Jones" href="/topic/sports/football/jacoby-jones-PESPT0012629.topic">Jacoby Jones</a> (pictured), who was targeted twice for no catches against Cleveland. The Raiders aren't an elite unit, allowing 28.6 points per game and ranking 21st in pass defense (245.3 yards). If the Ravens establish Rice, the play-action pass should be there for Flacco, and he could take some selective deep shots.

( US Presswire / October 7, 2012 )

During a 25-15 victory over the Cleveland Browns, quarterback Joe Flacco targeted wide receivers Torrey Smith and Anquan Boldin a total of 14 times for nine receptions, 103 yards and one touchdown. Effective work for the most part, as Boldin was targeted five times for five receptions and 57 yards. However, Flacco only connected with Smith on four of nine shots for 46 yards and the game-winning score.

What about the rest of the receivers? Well, not so much.

Including running back Ray Rice catching two dump passes for 6 yards, Flacco targeted his other receivers 10 times for six catches for 50 yards with a long reception of 27 yards to tight end Dennis Pitta.

Ravens coach John Harbaugh has stated a desire to get other receivers involved, including Jacoby Jones (pictured), who was targeted twice for no catches against Cleveland. The Raiders aren't an elite unit, allowing 28.6 points per game and ranking 21st in pass defense (245.3 yards). If the Ravens establish Rice, the play-action pass should be there for Flacco, and he could take some selective deep shots.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery