Ravens intangibles vs. 49ers intangibles

After going on the road to beat the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000040" title="Denver Broncos" href="/topic/sports/football/denver-broncos-ORSPT000040.topic">Denver Broncos</a> and the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000192" title="New England Patriots" href="/topic/sports/football/new-england-patriots-ORSPT000192.topic">New England Patriots</a>, the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000000250" title="AFC" href="/topic/sports/football/afc-ORSPT000000250.topic">AFC</a>'s top two seeds, the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> enter <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVSPR000237" title="Super Bowl XLVII" href="/topic/sports/football/super-bowl-xlvii-EVSPR000237.topic">Super Bowl XLVII</a> with a surge of momentum and confidence. They are as healthy as they've been all season, and Lewis' pending retirement has seemingly sharpened their focus and provided them with even more belief and focus. The two weeks to prepare should help defensive coordinator Dean Pees figure out a good plan to combat the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000057" title="San Francisco 49ers" href="/topic/sports/football/san-francisco-49ers-ORSPT000057.topic">49ers</a>'. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008918" title="John Harbaugh" href="/topic/sports/football/john-harbaugh-PESPT00008918.topic">John Harbaugh</a> won the only other matchup against his brother Jim's 49ers, 16-6, during the 2011 season.<br>
<br>
After losing in overtime to the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000197" title="New York Giants" href="/topic/sports/football/new-york-giants-ORSPT000197.topic">New York Giants</a> in last year's <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVSPR00003532" title="National Football Conference" href="/topic/sports/football/national-football-conference-EVSPR00003532.topic">NFC</a> title game, the 49ers, like the Ravens, shrugged off the previous year's disappointment and powered their way to the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVSPR000004" title="Super Bowl" href="/topic/sports/football/super-bowl-EVSPR000004.topic">Super Bowl</a>. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT002970" title="Jim Harbaugh" href="/topic/sports/football/jim-harbaugh-PESPT002970.topic">Jim Harbaugh</a> has pushed all the right buttons, highlighted by his decision to go with Kaepernick over the steady <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013010" title="Alex Smith" href="/topic/sports/football/alex-smith-PESPT0013010.topic">Alex Smith</a>. The 49ers are relatively healthy and the players have said this week that they've had their best practices all season. While the 49ers haven't won a Super Bowl since 1994, they are 5-0 all-time when they get to this point.<br>
<br>
<b>EDGE</b>: Ravens

( Baltimore Sun photo by Gene Sweeney Jr. )

After going on the road to beat the Denver Broncos and the New England Patriots, the AFC's top two seeds, the Ravens enter Super Bowl XLVII with a surge of momentum and confidence. They are as healthy as they've been all season, and Lewis' pending retirement has seemingly sharpened their focus and provided them with even more belief and focus. The two weeks to prepare should help defensive coordinator Dean Pees figure out a good plan to combat the 49ers'. John Harbaugh won the only other matchup against his brother Jim's 49ers, 16-6, during the 2011 season.

After losing in overtime to the New York Giants in last year's NFC title game, the 49ers, like the Ravens, shrugged off the previous year's disappointment and powered their way to the Super Bowl. Jim Harbaugh has pushed all the right buttons, highlighted by his decision to go with Kaepernick over the steady Alex Smith. The 49ers are relatively healthy and the players have said this week that they've had their best practices all season. While the 49ers haven't won a Super Bowl since 1994, they are 5-0 all-time when they get to this point.

EDGE: Ravens

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES


      ABOUT THE BLOGGERS


      Jeff Zrebiec has been with The Sun since 2000 and covered the Orioles from 2005 through 2011. A New Jersey native, he was a 2001 graduate of Loyola University in Baltimore. He also has covered University of Maryland basketball and college lacrosse during his time with The Sun.

      Aaron Wilson joined The Baltimore Sun in August 2012 after 11 years at the Carroll County Times. He's entering his 12th year on the Ravens' beat. He has previously covered the Jacksonville Jaguars and the Tennessee Titans. Wilson attended East Carolina University.

      Mike Preston has been with The Baltimore Sun since 1983. Prior to becoming a columnist in 2000, he covered the Ravens for four years. Preston is a native of Essex and a graduate of Towson State University, where he played football.

      RAVENS & FOOTBALL VIDEOS