Flacco, Rice up for awards

Joe Flacco is one of five candidates competing for the GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year.

The Ravens quarterback was singled out for his 26-yard touchdown pass to rookie wide receiver Torrey Smith with eight seconds left in the fourth quarter. That score capped a 13-play, 92-yard drive that gave the team an eventual 23-20 win against the Pittsburgh Steelers on Nov. 6 and a sweep of their AFC North rivals.

Flacco is vying for the award with Green Bay Packers outside linebacker Clay Matthews (led a goal-line stop of New Orleans Saints running back Mark Ingram to preserve a 42-34 victory on Sept. 8); Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo (engineered a 13-point comeback in the fourth quarter and overtime to earn a 27-24 win against the San Francisco 49ers on Sept. 18); the Oakland Raiders (upending the Houston Texans, 25-20, on Oct. 11, just one day after owner Al Davis had died); and Denver Broncos quarterback Tim Tebow (helped erase a 10-0 deficit in the final 2:08 of regulation to cement a 13-10 overtime win against the Chicago Bears on Dec. 11).

Fans can vote at NFL.com/gmc.

Ray Rice is one of three candidates for the FedEx Ground Player of the Year.

The Ravens running back was highlighted for amassing 1,364 yards – second-best in the NFL – and 12 rushing touchdowns – tied for second in the league among running backs. Invited to the Pro Bowl for the second time in three years, Rice was nominated for the FedEx Ground Player of the Week four times, winning twice.

Rice's competition for the award is the Jacksonville Jaguars' Maurice Jones-Drew (a NFL-high 1,606 yards and eight touchdowns en route to being the only running back in the league to average over 100 rushing years this season) and the Philadelphia Eagles' LeSean McCoy (a NFL-best 17 touchdowns and 1,309 yards, which ranked fourth).

Fans can vote at NFL.com/FedEx.


Baltimore Sun staff writer Mike Preston contributed to this article.

  • Text FOOTBALL to 70701 to get Baltimore Sun Ravens text alerts