"We're going to play the way we always do and we're going to win a lot of games and we're going to give ourselves the best chance we can to go out and do the exact same thing we did last year," Flacco said. "But we can't promise that, and you can't just expect that. This is a tough league, and we've got to go out there and work for it."



Can you expect a Super Bowl MVP to improve?

Looking at how the past five quarterbacks to win the Super Bowl MVP award fared the following regular season compared with the previous one.

SB XLI: Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts

2006 season: 4,397 passing yards, 31 touchdowns, 9 interceptions

2007 season: 4,040 passing yards, 31 touchdowns, 14 interceptions

SB XLII: Eli Manning, New York Giants

2007 season: 3,336 passing yards, 23 touchdowns, 20 interceptions

2008 season: 3,238 passing yards, 21 touchdowns, 10 interceptions

SB XLIV: Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

2009 season: 4,388 passing yards, 34 touchdowns, 11 interceptions

2010 season: 4,620 passing yards, 33 touchdowns, 22 interceptions

SB XLV: Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers

2010 season: 3,922 passing yards, 28 touchdowns, 11 interceptions

2011 season: 4,643 passing yards, 45 touchdowns, 6 interceptions

SB XLVI: Eli Manning, New York Giants

2011 season: 4,933 passing yards, 29 touchdowns, 16 interceptions

2012 season: 3,948 passing yards, 26 touchdowns, 15 interceptions