Offensive line: Wally Williams

While Ogden and Mulitalo were easy selections, finding the best center in team history is much more difficult. Steve Everitt was the most talented, but he only played half a season for the Ravens. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT002317" title="Mike Flynn" href="/topic/sports/mike-flynn-PESPT002317.topic">Mike Flynn</a> held the job the longest, but he was never considered among the best in the league. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008625" title="Jason Brown (football)" href="/topic/sports/football/jason-brown-%28football%29-PESPT000008625.topic">Jason Brown</a> had an excellent season at center in 2008, but it was only one season. And <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000608" title="Matt Birk" href="/topic/sports/football/matt-birk-PESPT000608.topic">Matt Birk</a> came to the Ravens after making six Pro Bowls. So it goes to <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT007982" title="Wally Williams" href="/topic/sports/wally-williams-PESPT007982.topic">Wally Williams</a>, who ranked among the top third of centers when he started three seasons at that position for the Ravens. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT005098" title="Jeff Mitchell" href="/topic/sports/jeff-mitchell-PESPT005098.topic">Jeff Mitchell</a>, the center on the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVSPR000004" title="Super Bowl" href="/topic/sports/football/super-bowl-EVSPR000004.topic">Super Bowl</a> team, is a close second.

( Handout photo / July 29, 1996 )

While Ogden and Mulitalo were easy selections, finding the best center in team history is much more difficult. Steve Everitt was the most talented, but he only played half a season for the Ravens. Mike Flynn held the job the longest, but he was never considered among the best in the league. Jason Brown had an excellent season at center in 2008, but it was only one season. And Matt Birk came to the Ravens after making six Pro Bowls. So it goes to Wally Williams, who ranked among the top third of centers when he started three seasons at that position for the Ravens. Jeff Mitchell, the center on the Super Bowl team, is a close second.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun

RAVENS & FOOTBALL VIDEOS

Welcome to The Baltimore Sun's Ravens game story database. Use the search prompts below for access to Baltimore Sun stories for every game in Ravens history.