RAVENS PASS OFFENSE VS. CARDINALS PASS DEFENSE

As much as <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000012410" title="Joe Flacco" href="/topic/sports/football/joe-flacco-PESPT0000012410.topic">Joe Flacco</a> and the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a>' passing game struggled Monday &mdash; the quarterback was just 6-for-16 for 8 yards at halftime &mdash; the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000031" title="Arizona Cardinals" href="/topic/sports/football/arizona-cardinals-ORSPT000031.topic">Cardinals</a>' secondary has been giving up big plays all season. The Cardinals are allowing 274.2 passing yards per game, 28th in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="NFL" href="/topic/sports/football/nfl-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a>. Against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000055" title="Pittsburgh Steelers" href="/topic/sports/football/pittsburgh-steelers-ORSPT000055.topic">Steelers</a>, Arizona gave up 16.5 yards per reception. They've also surrendered the third-most pass plays of 20 yards or more in the NFL. The Cardinals have a talented young cornerback tandem in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009832" title="Patrick Peterson" href="/topic/sports/football/patrick-peterson-PESPT000009832.topic">Patrick Peterson</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013788" title="A.J. Jefferson" href="/topic/sports/football/a.j.-jefferson-PESPT0013788.topic">A.J. Jefferson</a>, but they've played just 14 NFL games combined and their inexperience has showed. Flacco has thrown one touchdown pass and three interceptions over his past three games. He's also near the bottom of the rankings in quarterback rating and completion percentage. Wide receiver <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008942" title="Anquan Boldin" href="/topic/sports/football/anquan-boldin-PESPT00008942.topic">Anquan Boldin</a> (above), who leads the Ravens in catches (27) and receiving yards (394), played seven seasons with the Cardinals. The Cardinals have 13 sacks this season &mdash; the same number the Ravens have given up &mdash; and they love sending safety <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008006" title="Adrian Wilson" href="/topic/sports/football/adrian-wilson-PESPT008006.topic">Adrian Wilson</a> on blitzes.<br>
<b>EDGE:</b> RAVENS

( Baltimore Sun photo by Gene Sweeney Jr. / October 2, 2011 )

As much as Joe Flacco and the Ravens' passing game struggled Monday — the quarterback was just 6-for-16 for 8 yards at halftime — the Cardinals' secondary has been giving up big plays all season. The Cardinals are allowing 274.2 passing yards per game, 28th in the NFL. Against the Steelers, Arizona gave up 16.5 yards per reception. They've also surrendered the third-most pass plays of 20 yards or more in the NFL. The Cardinals have a talented young cornerback tandem in Patrick Peterson and A.J. Jefferson, but they've played just 14 NFL games combined and their inexperience has showed. Flacco has thrown one touchdown pass and three interceptions over his past three games. He's also near the bottom of the rankings in quarterback rating and completion percentage. Wide receiver Anquan Boldin (above), who leads the Ravens in catches (27) and receiving yards (394), played seven seasons with the Cardinals. The Cardinals have 13 sacks this season — the same number the Ravens have given up — and they love sending safety Adrian Wilson on blitzes.
EDGE: RAVENS

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery
Talk about it
Join other sports fans on our Ravens message board SUBSCRIBE TO THIS FEED