Week 7: Texans 43, Ravens 13

Outside linebacker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008622" title="Terrell Suggs" href="/topic/sports/football/terrell-suggs-PESPT000008622.topic">Terrell Suggs</a>, the 2011 <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="NFL" href="/topic/sports/football/nfl-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a> Defensive Player of the Year, made an unexpectedly early return from an offseason Achilles tendon injury, but the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> disappeared against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000043" title="Houston Texans" href="/topic/sports/football/houston-texans-ORSPT000043.topic">Texans</a>. Tucker's 51-yard field goal on the Ravens' opening drive gave them a 3-0 lead, but they didn't score again until the third quarter. Houston linebacker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012163" title="Connor Barwin" href="/topic/sports/football/connor-barwin-PESPT0012163.topic">Connor Barwin</a> sacked Flacco for a safety in the first quarter, starting a run of 29 points for the Texans. Quarterback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008908" title="Matt Schaub" href="/topic/sports/football/matt-schaub-PESPT00008908.topic">Matt Schaub</a> threw both of his two touchdowns during that stretch, and cornerback Jonathan Joseph returned an interception 52 yards for a touchdown as Houston cruised into halftime with a 29-3 lead. Running back <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008974" title="Arian Foster" href="/topic/sports/football/arian-foster-PESPT000008974.topic">Arian Foster</a> rushed for 98 yards and two touchdowns. Flacco passed for only 147 yards, and the Texans held Rice to 42 yards on nine carries.<br>
<br>
<b>KEY NUMBER</b>: 176 -- Yards of total offense for the Ravens, their worst performance of the season.<br>
<br>
<b>RAVEN OF THE GAME</b>: <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012395" title="Dannell Ellerbe" href="/topic/sports/football/dannell-ellerbe-PESPT0012395.topic">Dannell Ellerbe</a>. The only bright spot on the Ravens defense, he finished with 12 tackles and one pass breakup.

( October 22, 2012 )

Outside linebacker Terrell Suggs, the 2011 NFL Defensive Player of the Year, made an unexpectedly early return from an offseason Achilles tendon injury, but the Ravens disappeared against the Texans. Tucker's 51-yard field goal on the Ravens' opening drive gave them a 3-0 lead, but they didn't score again until the third quarter. Houston linebacker Connor Barwin sacked Flacco for a safety in the first quarter, starting a run of 29 points for the Texans. Quarterback Matt Schaub threw both of his two touchdowns during that stretch, and cornerback Jonathan Joseph returned an interception 52 yards for a touchdown as Houston cruised into halftime with a 29-3 lead. Running back Arian Foster rushed for 98 yards and two touchdowns. Flacco passed for only 147 yards, and the Texans held Rice to 42 yards on nine carries.

KEY NUMBER: 176 -- Yards of total offense for the Ravens, their worst performance of the season.

RAVEN OF THE GAME: Dannell Ellerbe. The only bright spot on the Ravens defense, he finished with 12 tackles and one pass breakup.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

PHOTO GALLERIES

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Google Plus
  • RSS Feeds
  • Mobile Alerts and Apps

Contact Us | Newsroom directory | Social Sun

RAVENS & FOOTBALL VIDEOS

Welcome to The Baltimore Sun's Ravens game story database. Use the search prompts below for access to Baltimore Sun stories for every game in Ravens history.