RAVENS RUN OFFENSE VS. BROWNS RUN DEFENSE:

After facing two of the top rushing defenses the past two games, the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> will oppose one of the worst Sunday. Against the Cincinnati <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000038" title="Cleveland Browns" href="/topic/sports/football/cleveland-browns-ORSPT000038.topic">Browns</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000057" title="San Francisco 49ers" href="/topic/sports/football/san-francisco-49ers-ORSPT000057.topic">San Francisco 49ers</a>, the Ravens rushed for 197 total yards, showing a bigger commitment to <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000086232" title="Ray Rice" href="/topic/sports/football/ray-rice-PESPT0000086232.topic">Ray Rice</a> and the running game. Rice, along with <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT007968" title="Ricky Williams" href="/topic/sports/football/ricky-williams-PESPT007968.topic">Ricky Williams</a>, should again figure prominently in the game plan with the Browns allowing 138.6 yards per game on the ground. That puts them 29th in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="NFL" href="/topic/sports/football/nfl-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a>. Linebacker D'Qwell Jackson (above, tackling Rice), a former University of Maryland standout, is the Browns' top run stopper. He is currently tied for fourth in the NFL with 100 tackles. He'll have even more responsibility this week with fellow linebacker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012432" title="Scott Fujita" href="/topic/sports/football/scott-fujita-PESPT0012432.topic">Scott Fujita</a> going on injured reserve after he broke his hand in two places last Sunday against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000037" title="Cincinnati Bengals" href="/topic/sports/football/cincinnati-bengals-ORSPT000037.topic">Cincinnati Bengals</a>. Bengals running back <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008277" title="Cedric Benson" href="/topic/sports/football/cedric-benson-PESPT008277.topic">Cedric Benson</a> gouged the Browns for 106 yards rushing and a touchdown last week. It was the sixth time the Browns have allowed a 100-yard rusher this season. In six career games against the Browns, Rice has averaged 80.7 yards on the ground with two rushing touchdowns to go along with 15 catches for 80 yards.<br>
<br>
EDGE: RAVENS

( GENE SWEENEY JR, Baltimore Sun / September 21, 2008 )

After facing two of the top rushing defenses the past two games, the Ravens will oppose one of the worst Sunday. Against the Cincinnati Browns and San Francisco 49ers, the Ravens rushed for 197 total yards, showing a bigger commitment to Ray Rice and the running game. Rice, along with Ricky Williams, should again figure prominently in the game plan with the Browns allowing 138.6 yards per game on the ground. That puts them 29th in the NFL. Linebacker D'Qwell Jackson (above, tackling Rice), a former University of Maryland standout, is the Browns' top run stopper. He is currently tied for fourth in the NFL with 100 tackles. He'll have even more responsibility this week with fellow linebacker Scott Fujita going on injured reserve after he broke his hand in two places last Sunday against the Cincinnati Bengals. Bengals running back Cedric Benson gouged the Browns for 106 yards rushing and a touchdown last week. It was the sixth time the Browns have allowed a 100-yard rusher this season. In six career games against the Browns, Rice has averaged 80.7 yards on the ground with two rushing touchdowns to go along with 15 catches for 80 yards.

EDGE: RAVENS

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery
Talk about it
Join other sports fans on our Ravens message board SUBSCRIBE TO THIS FEED