3. Is the secondary in trouble without Jimmy Smith?

With cornerback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009815" title="Jimmy Smith (football)" href="/topic/sports/football/jimmy-smith-%28football%29-PESPT000009815.topic">Jimmy Smith</a> out of the lineup indefinitely after undergoing sports hernia surgery Thursday, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT007245" title="Corey Graham" href="/topic/sports/football/corey-graham-PESPT007245.topic">Corey Graham</a> will start opposite <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013165" title="Cary Williams" href="/topic/sports/football/cary-williams-PESPT0013165.topic">Cary Williams</a>.<br>
<br>
The Ravens are fortunate that <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012218" title="Antonio Brown" href="/topic/sports/football/antonio-brown-PESPT0012218.topic">Antonio Brown</a> is out for Pittsburgh, but they still have to contend with <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013124" title="Mike Wallace (football)" href="/topic/sports/football/mike-wallace-%28football%29-PESPT0013124.topic">Mike Wallace</a> (42 catches, 539 yards and six touchdowns), tight end <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012781" title="Heath Miller" href="/topic/sports/football/heath-miller-PESPT0012781.topic">Heath Miller</a> (43 catches, 431 yards and six touchdowns) and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012961" title="Emmanuel Sanders" href="/topic/sports/football/emmanuel-sanders-PESPT0012961.topic">Emmanuel Sanders</a> (26 catches, 332 yards and one touchdown).<br>
<br>
It's a formidable group even without Brown, a versatile, shifty, all-purpose threat.<br>
<br>
Smith was struggling a bit, but Graham was beaten for a touchdown by <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012798" title="Denarius Moore" href="/topic/sports/football/denarius-moore-PESPT0012798.topic">Denarius Moore</a> against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000053" title="Oakland Raiders" href="/topic/sports/football/oakland-raiders-ORSPT000053.topic">Oakland Raiders</a>.<br>
<br>
A Pro Bowl special teams ace who had a career-high three interceptions last season against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000036" title="Chicago Bears" href="/topic/sports/football/chicago-bears-ORSPT000036.topic">Chicago Bears</a>, Graham is capable of making some plays. Now is the time for Graham to retaliate by making some plays when he's picked on, as Williams has done with four interceptions.

( Karl Merton Ferron, Baltimore Sun / July 28, 2012 )

With cornerback Jimmy Smith out of the lineup indefinitely after undergoing sports hernia surgery Thursday, Corey Graham will start opposite Cary Williams.

The Ravens are fortunate that Antonio Brown is out for Pittsburgh, but they still have to contend with Mike Wallace (42 catches, 539 yards and six touchdowns), tight end Heath Miller (43 catches, 431 yards and six touchdowns) and Emmanuel Sanders (26 catches, 332 yards and one touchdown).

It's a formidable group even without Brown, a versatile, shifty, all-purpose threat.

Smith was struggling a bit, but Graham was beaten for a touchdown by Denarius Moore against the Oakland Raiders.

A Pro Bowl special teams ace who had a career-high three interceptions last season against the Chicago Bears, Graham is capable of making some plays. Now is the time for Graham to retaliate by making some plays when he's picked on, as Williams has done with four interceptions.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery
Talk about it
Join other sports fans on our Ravens message board SUBSCRIBE TO THIS FEED