SPECIAL TEAMS

Despite a shaky regular season by <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008944" title="Billy Cundiff" href="/topic/sports/football/billy-cundiff-PESPT00008944.topic">Billy Cundiff</a>, the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> remain confident that their kicker will deliver if he is called on in the clutch. Cundiff, who made five field goals against Houston earlier this season, made 28 of his 37 field-goal attempts in the regular season, converting only one of six from beyond 50 yards. His counterpart, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT006022" title="Neil Rackers" href="/topic/sports/neil-rackers-PESPT006022.topic">Neil Rackers</a>, set single-season Houston marks with 135 total points and 32 field goals. He was 4-for-5 from 50 yards or longer during the regular season. While <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012657" title="Sam Koch" href="/topic/sports/football/sam-koch-PESPT0012657.topic">Sam Koch</a> should give the Ravens the edge in the punting department over <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT007481" title="Matt Turk" href="/topic/sports/football/matt-turk-PESPT007481.topic">Matt Turk</a>, he'll have to make things difficult on <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000043" title="Houston Texans" href="/topic/sports/football/houston-texans-ORSPT000043.topic">Texans</a> return man Jones (above), who is third in the NFL with 518 punt-return yards with one touchdown. The Ravens have given up two-punt return touchdowns this season and one kickoff-return touchdown. That is why they spent a large part of their bye week working on their coverage units. Webb remains the Ravens' primary punt returner and also could be called on to return kicks, though reserve safety <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000011501" title="Tom Zbikowski" href="/topic/sports/football/tom-zbikowski-PESPT0000011501.topic">Tom Zbikowski</a> has been handling those duties.<br>
<br>
<b>EDGE:</b> TEXANS

( Getty photo / December 23, 2011 )

Despite a shaky regular season by Billy Cundiff, the Ravens remain confident that their kicker will deliver if he is called on in the clutch. Cundiff, who made five field goals against Houston earlier this season, made 28 of his 37 field-goal attempts in the regular season, converting only one of six from beyond 50 yards. His counterpart, Neil Rackers, set single-season Houston marks with 135 total points and 32 field goals. He was 4-for-5 from 50 yards or longer during the regular season. While Sam Koch should give the Ravens the edge in the punting department over Matt Turk, he'll have to make things difficult on Texans return man Jones (above), who is third in the NFL with 518 punt-return yards with one touchdown. The Ravens have given up two-punt return touchdowns this season and one kickoff-return touchdown. That is why they spent a large part of their bye week working on their coverage units. Webb remains the Ravens' primary punt returner and also could be called on to return kicks, though reserve safety Tom Zbikowski has been handling those duties.

EDGE: TEXANS

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery
Talk about it
Join other sports fans on our Ravens message board SUBSCRIBE TO THIS FEED