The Annapolis-based National Sailing Center & Hall of Fame will induct the following nine people Oct. 14 in an invitiation-only event at the Southern Yacht Club in New Orleans: navigator Stan Honey (Palo Alto, Calif.), winner of the 2006 Volvo Ocean Race as well as the 2010 Trophée Jules Verne for fastest nonstop circumnavigation of the globe; yacht designer Bruce Kirby (Rowayton, Conn.); 1988 Soling Olympic silver medalist, winning Volvo Ocean Race skipper and America's Cup tactician John Kostecki (Reno, Nev.); three-¬≠time Olympic medalist and two-¬≠time Star world champion Mark Reynolds (San Diego); Olympic gold and silver medalist Peter Barrett (Madison, Wis.); America's Cup competitor and journalist Bob Bavier (New Rochelle, N.Y.); rules expert Gregg Bemis (Boston); yacht designer and Medal of Freedom winner Rod Stephens (New York); and founder and first commodore of the New York Yacht Club John Cox Stevens (New York). Barrett, Bavier, Bemis, Stephens and Stevens will be inducted posthumously. For information, go to