Miguel Tejada

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000160" title="Baltimore Orioles" href="/topic/sports/baseball/baltimore-orioles-ORSPT000160.topic">Orioles</a> shortstop <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008494" title="Miguel Tejada" href="/topic/sports/baseball/miguel-tejada-PESPT008494.topic">Miguel Tejada</a> won the 2004 Home Run Derby, swatting a then-record 27 total home runs at Minute Maid Park in Houston. Tejada, a late substitute for the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000205" title="New York Yankees" href="/topic/sports/baseball/new-york-yankees-ORSPT000205.topic">New York Yankees</a>' <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT002549" title="Jason Giambi" href="/topic/sports/baseball/jason-giambi-PESPT002549.topic">Jason Giambi</a>, edged out hometown favorite <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000562" title="Lance Berkman" href="/topic/sports/baseball/lance-berkman-PESPT000562.topic">Lance Berkman</a> of the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000013" title="Houston Astros" href="/topic/sports/baseball/houston-astros-ORSPT000013.topic">Houston Astros</a> in the final round, 5-4, becoming the first Oriole to win the contest since <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008391" title="Cal Ripken, Jr." href="/topic/sports/baseball/cal-ripken-jr.-PESPT008391.topic">Cal Ripken Jr.</a> in 1991.

( AP photo / July 12, 2004 )

Orioles shortstop Miguel Tejada won the 2004 Home Run Derby, swatting a then-record 27 total home runs at Minute Maid Park in Houston. Tejada, a late substitute for the New York Yankees' Jason Giambi, edged out hometown favorite Lance Berkman of the Houston Astros in the final round, 5-4, becoming the first Oriole to win the contest since Cal Ripken Jr. in 1991.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
  • Home Delivery Home Delivery

ORIOLES SCOREBOARD


PHOTO GALLERIES

SUN ORIOLES STAFF ON TWITTER

Eduardo A. Encina

Eduardo A. Encina

Orioles beat writer
Peter Schmuck

Peter Schmuck

Sports Columnist
Dan Connolly

Dan Connolly

Orioles and national baseball writer
Dean Jones Jr.

Dean Jones Jr.

Orioles editor

PICTURES: ORIOLES PLAYERS

PICTURES: ALL-TIME ORIOLES