As consolation prizes go, you can do a lot worse than Iguodala. The Warriors couldn't entice Dwight Howard but landed a lockdown perimeter defender who can also help facilitate one of the league's most dynamic offenses. The flip side is that they must replace Jack and Landry, whose toughness and court savvy rival anyone's.

5. Houston

2012-13 finish: 45-37.

Coming: Dwight Howard, Omri Casspi, Marcus Camby, Ronnie Brewer, Reggie Williams.

Going: Carlos Delfino, Thomas Robinson, James Anderson.

As the Lakers learned last season, the euphoria of landing Howard can quickly go from "Yay!" to "Yowzers!" Howard hasn't developed a go-to move around the basket after nine NBA seasons, and it might take a NASA engineer to fix his misadventures at the free-throw line. At least he's lots of fun in the locker room before games.

6. Memphis

2012-13 finish: 56-26.

Coming: Coach Dave Joerger, Kosta Koufos, Mike Miller, Nick Calathes, Jamaal Franklin.

Going: Coach Lionel Hollins, Darrell Arthur, Tony Wroten, Austin Daye, Keyon Dooling.

Grit-and-grind is giving way to get-the-shot-off-ASAP under Joerger, an analytics adherent who noted that big men Zach Randolph and Marc Gasol have been more effective scorers in the first 10 seconds of the shot clock while playing together. Mike Conley is fully capable of giving the offense some vroom.

7. Minnesota

2012-13 finish: 31-51.

Coming: Kevin Martin, Corey Brewer, Shabazz Muhammad, Gorgui Dieng, Ronny Turiaf.

Going: Andrei Kirilenko, Luke Ridnour, Malcolm Lee, Mikael Gelabale.

Ricky Rubio's knee injury derailed the Timberwolves' playoff hopes in 2012. Last season, it was Kevin Love's hand. If the rest of the roster can get full-body protection from Lloyd's of London, then maybe the team will reach the postseason for the first time since 2004. Martin adds some needed consistent scoring and Brewer can be an occasional revelation off the bench.

8. Lakers

2012-13 finish: 45-37.

Coming: Chris Kaman, Nick Young, Jordan Farmar, Wesley Johnson, Marcus Landry, Elias Harris.

Going: Dwight Howard, Metta World Peace, Earl Clark, Antawn Jamison, Chris Duhon, Darius Morris.