Ever wanted to go back to college for the day? Don’t miss: 3 top lecturers in Baltimore
Lacrosse Insider College lacrosse news, scores, schedules

Loyola Maryland’s Pat Spencer, Maryland’s Connor Kelly among men's Tewaaraton Award finalists

For the second consecutive year, the Maryland and Loyola Maryland men’s lacrosse programs each feature a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award. One is a familiar face, while the other is a newcomer.

For the second year in a row, the Greyhounds’ Pat Spencer is one of five finalists for the sport’s version of the Heisman Trophy. The junior attackman ranks fourth among Division I players in total points (86) and points per game (5.7) and is tied for third in total assists (55) and assists per game (3.7).

Spencer is already the Patriot League’s all-time leader in assists (162) and points (258). The Davidsonville resident and Boys’ Latin graduate also holds the school record for career assists, overtaking Gary Hanley’s mark of 160.

Less than a year after attackman Matt Rambo took home the Tewaaraton, the Terps boast another finalist in Connor Kelly. The senior midfielder ranks ninth in the country in total points (73) and 10th in points per game (4.9).

With 40 goals and 33 assists this spring, Kelly joined Rambo as the only players in program history to reach the 40-30 plateau in a single season. Kelly ranks seventh in school history in all-time goals (122) and 13th in points (182).

The other three finalists are Denver senior faceoff specialist Trevor Baptiste, Duke senior attackman Justin Guterding and Yale senior attackman Ben Reeves. Baptiste and Reeves join Spencer as repeat finalists.

Baptiste is the NCAA’s all-time leader in faceoff wins with 1,129 and has won 71.9 percent of his draws. Guterding is only the second player in NCAA history to score at least 200 career goals and is tied for the national lead in total points (96) this season. Reeves ranks third in the country in points (90) and is the Bulldogs’ career leader in goals (163).

Left out of the group were Albany senior attackman and 2017 finalist Connor Fields (sixth in Division I in points per game despite missing three games), Great Danes sophomore faceoff specialist TD Ierlan (national leader in faceoff percentage and ground balls per game), Virginia sophomore attackman Michael Kraus (sixth in total points) and Cornell sophomore attackman Jeff Teat (tied for first in Division I in total points).

The winner of the Tewaaraton Award will be announced during a ceremony May 31 in Washington.



Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad