Ever wanted to go back to college for the day? Don’t miss: 3 top lecturers in Baltimore

Maryland's Connor Kelly, John Tillman win Big Ten men's lacrosse individual awards

The No. 2 Maryland men’s lacrosse team took home two major Big Ten awards with Connor Kelly being named the conference’s Offensive Player of the Year and John Tillman sharing Coach of the Year honors with Ohio State’s Nick Myers, the league announced Tuesday.

Kelly, a senior midfielder, leads the league in points per game (5.1) and ranks second in goals and assists per game. He ranks ninth in school history in career goals (118) and has more assists this season (30) than his first three years (27).

Tillman ranks third in program history in coaching wins (107) and has guided the school to four consecutive Big Ten regular-season championships and the top seed in the conference tournament. He was the league’s Coach of the Year last spring.

In addition to Kelly, the reigning NCAA champion Terps put sophomore attackman Jared Bernhardt (30 goals, 13 assists) on the conference’s first team. Senior defenseman Bryce Young (13 ground balls, six caused turnovers, two goals, one assist), junior defenseman Curtis Corley (eight ground balls, eight caused turnovers), and fifth-year senior goalkeeper Dan Morris (8.54 goals-against average, .547 save percentage) earned spots on the second team.

No. 7 Johns Hopkins was represented on the first team by senior midfielder Joel Tinney (team-leading 28 assists and 45 points). Senior attackman Shack Stanwick (16 goals, 25 assists), junior defenseman Patrick Foley (23 ground balls, 13 caused turnovers, one goal) and sophomore attackman Cole Williams (team-high-tying 28 goals, 12 assists) made the second team.



Copyright © 2018, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad